We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fascinating tour of beautiful caves. Well worth the visi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cango Caves

The Cango Caves
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though damaged through shortsighted tourism schemes in the 1960s, these caves are still worth a visit for their eerie dark tunnels and stunning limestone formations.
London England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fascinating tour of beautiful caves. Well worth the visi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Fascinating tour of beautiful caves- much enjoyed our visit and just sorry that they don't do "Son et Lumiere" inside these cavernous spaces as I can imagine that would be wonderful. We did not do the adventurous tour !

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haworths63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,559
    890
    217
    29
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressive caves”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

Ok, this is one of the typical tourist things to do there, but we were really impressed by the caves. We did the regular 1hour tour, but if you are adventurous, you can also do the extended 1,5 hour tour were you have to climb through claustrofobic holes. We had a very interesting guide (Eric, we forgot his African name), who sang a beautiful African (Xhosa) song in one cave to show us the acoustic. Nice experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tania M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“LOVELY ART”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Really worth the visit....staff friendly and professional, the caves itself are absolutely stunning,
bushmans artwork amazing...great value for money!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank annelizebergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossel Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
153 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Also for the Claustrophobic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Being claustrophobic and all I took my 11 year old son to see the Cango Caves, apparently the biggest cave system in Africa. Our guide Sedrick was awesome and very concerned with my apparant panic as we ventured deeper into the caves. Found it interresting and beautiful and good value for money.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank StellaJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

very beautiful art pieces formed by nature. I am so glad I didnt give this a miss (be prepared for a long mountainous drive up from oudtshoorn). the heritage tour and guide we had was superb! If i visit south africa again, I will definitely try the cango caves adventure tour!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovelyling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cango Caves also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Cango Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing