We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nature's Amazing Ability”
Review of The Cango Caves

The Cango Caves
Ranked #2 of 32 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Though damaged through shortsighted tourism schemes in the 1960s, these caves are still worth a visit for their eerie dark tunnels and stunning limestone formations.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Nature's Amazing Ability”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stunning rock formations displayed in 6 magical chambers presented in a fun and informativeway by our guide.

a must see when in oudtshoorn

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,917 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,692
    954
    232
    31
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly quite good”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Initially thought this to be a potential tourist trap but was pleasantly surprised to find it quite enjoyable. The formations are truly astonishing. Was interesting to see how dark it really was in there when all the lights were switched off. The entrance fee I found to be reasonable. Only thing was the guide. Not sure if it was him himself or the script he was prescribed to say, but the jokes were super corny and his delivery was a bit annoying. Website said we needed to pre-book, but we are out-of-season now so we didn't and did not have to wait.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank spikehugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous family outing”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The caves have been upgraded somewhat. We love going there, but if you don't like crowds, try to do it out of season and out of school holidays It is a very popular spot for school outings.
It is just sad, having been there about 25 years ago and now - how some people just has no respect for nature. The cave routes have been changed since the 80's, so it is well 'worn'. But still a nice experience for the kids!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Madri V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntelier, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“amazing caves”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We went to the Caves because everyone recommended it and the four rooms in the cave are really amazing. The guide was good and it was interesting Information. We are not rellay in to Caves though and we saw a few so this i our last cave to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The caves are stunning and the guide very good as we walked through. We did the standard tour but the adventure tour sounded exciting as long as you are not claustrophobic or a bit on the chunky side

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cango Caves also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Cango Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing