We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go at the right time”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cango Caves

The Cango Caves
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Though damaged through shortsighted tourism schemes in the 1960s, these caves are still worth a visit for their eerie dark tunnels and stunning limestone formations.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go at the right time”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

It is a spectacular experience - I have been there on other occasions. But this time i went - late afternoon - it was very crowded. I would recommend that you go early morning, late afternoon, or if possible, not in holiday season.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jeean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,590
    914
    225
    29
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
Reviewed December 17, 2011

These are really impressive formations (no more, no less!).

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank CraigShe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Caves Ever”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

They offer two kinds of tour - adventure tour and standard tour. We got really lucky as when we arrived an 'adventure tour' was just starting. The adventure tour is definitely the best. As part of the tour you get to climb and crawl thorugh the caves. Some part are really tricky to get through as the spaces are so tight so this is definitley not something for anyone with claustrophobia.

Great way to spend a few hours!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank IrishSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Cave”
Reviewed December 8, 2011

The Cave is beautiful inside but I was told the crystals used to glisten more years ago. Do drop by if you have the chance.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank LadyChern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

You will be amazed at the vast underground halls and spectacular formations of Stalactites and Stalagmites. When you enter the entrance chamber you will notice an increase in the humidity with the temperature at a constant 67 degrees. We took the Standard tour approximately 60 mins. The first chamber is called Van Zyl'ls Hall,this spacious hall is over 90 metres long, 50 metres wide at its widest point, and between 14 and 18 metres high. Chamber after chamber we were given interpretations of the formations from the Throne Room, Rainbow Chamber and the Bridal Suite plus some surprises on the way, a very enjoyable way to spend an hour, don't take my word for it go and see for yourself. Before returning to our coach we were able to sit down and have a meal and what a meal.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank TalismanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cango Caves also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Cango Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing