We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosenhof Country House
Ranked #6 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was our 3rd stay at this hotel. Nothing changes year after year. The gardens are beautiful and tranquil, the staff are outstanding, warm and friendly and the place is a must stop for any Garden Route or Karoo trip.
Our room (7) was large with a lovely bathroom, comfortable bed and spacious sitting area.
Food is wonderful. We had fillet and lamb for dinner and both were well prepared and extremely tasty. Breakfast is freshly cooked and the buffet has everything you could want.
Bonus was a three night special rate for locals, which made it very affordable.
Can't wait to come back next year.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Anton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 316 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We had the most amazing room at this very pleasant hotel I say room but it was more like a small bungalow with its own swimming pool, the facilities of the room would be hard to beat with a large king sized bedroom a superb shower room with exercise bike walk in shower bath and all you could possibly need supplied, separate toilet to finish this beautiful bathroom.
Parking was right outside undercover with gardens surrounding, there was a separate lounge again with every think you would need, little touches like fresh fruit made for a great stay.
The dinning room for dinner was as you would expect beautiful furnished with antiques and comfortable chairs to sit on the staff were faultless with there service and knew how to serve properly.
We enjoyed our breakfast in the outdoor area surrounded by the stunning gardens and you could also gain access to the large swimming pool.
I will most definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbishton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights with my family on a trip through West Cape. The small houses really were beautiful and the rooms quite large with a nice terrace in front. The breakfast outside was well taken care off and the two dinners we had were excellent too. The staff was very friendly without an exception.

I forgot some clothes and the staff called me about that after I left and asked me where to send them. They arrived all in one piece and they called me to see if it did.

Will definitely stay again if I have the luck to visit this area once more!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank rvweert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

stayed here for 1 night on our way to franchoek. very nice hotel.staff nice and room was lovely. my only comment was the rugs in the hotel could do with replacing or removing as they are quite worn. food was fine and a lovely pool area.ate in the hotel in the evening which was quite nice.beautiful gardens and perfect for a stopover

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This old estate has been renovated and yet they left the old charm, service is very personal, they come to your own deck to serve you cocktail, the dining room is excellent and very well appointed, weather permitting the breakfast is served outside. They are also very good to point you to the right attraction

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinceCadoret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here one night and we so pleasantly surprised - it was extraordinary. Nice gardens with cottages surrounding them. Each has a lovely porch. I asked for a glass of wine when we arrived and it was brought to our porch along with some great hors d'ouerves. Large room and great bathroom. We also enjoyed dinner here and it was great. This was probably the most elegant room we visited on this trip, and we asked for "average" accommodations! Wanted to stay longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knitgusknit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

When we arrived we appeared to be the only guests there and this included for our evening meal. This did not put us off however as the service was great and the following day many guests arrived.

Our executive room had covered parking immediately outside and a small pool and patio area complete with chairs and sunloungers. Both rooms [living and bedroom] had patio doors which opened onto the paved area outside with the entire suite being a detached building. The bed was very firm and comfortable. The bathroom was large with a large shower cubicle but we were surprised with all the space available it did not have a second toilet.

When we arrived the weather was cold and the accommodation was cold in the bathroom although there is a gas fire in the living room and a small radiator in the bedroom.

There is a separate room for breakfast in the morning and if the weather is warm there is an outside area to eat. The quality and choice of food was excellent.

The set meal in the dining room was good quality but for R300 each we felt it was slightly overpriced considering others of a similar quality on our tour. The convenience however of staying in for meals outweighed the higher cost as this hotel is on the outskirts of the town and is not really walker-friendly to the town centre.

Room Tip: We would recommend an executive suite which is basically a detached building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowePCCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
504 reviews
15.2 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#5 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
8.3 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenhof Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenhof Country House

Address: 264 Baron van Reede Street | corner of North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $254 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosenhof Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rosenhof Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenhof Country House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing