We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosenhof Country House
Ranked #6 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 days to break up the drive back to Cape Town and really enjoyed just relaxing by the pool within Rosenhof's beautifully maintained grounds.
The room for fine for a family of 4 and breakfasts were lovely on the terrace, although the restaurant was probably a little too formal for our children.
To be honest, we didn't find too much else to do in Oudtshoorn but the Rosenhof is recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    57
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
42
201
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

A luxurious oasis. We had an executive suite which gave us a large elegantly furnished sitting room, spacious bedroom, superb bathroom and separate WC. We had our own swimming pool and private garden and terrace. The suite was extremely luxurious and comfortable. The hotel is furnished with wonderful antiques and art. Breakfast and dinner are superb. The hotel knew we did not eat meat and without hesitation developed a separate menu to suit our tastes. The service is attentive. All in all highly recommended without reservation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffreylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of this small town establishment. The gardens were exquisite, impeccably cared for and it creates a beautiful and calming oasis! the suite was also beautiful with its own private pool and well appointed as well as private. The food was very delicious and the service was friendly and relaxed, yet efficient. If in Oudtshoorn it is the perfect place to relax and one night was certainly too short a stay.

Room Tip: Choose the 1 bedroom suite with private pool, it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiet_Guest312583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahiti
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place is a peaceful heaven. Wish a home can be like this...
Staff was wonderful, we happen to spend our new year eve here and had a very fine dinner even though a little quiet for a new year celebration, but Oudtshoom is not Saint Tropez....
We liked it very much and the tourist activities around are top of the line...
Fun and peace

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertTahiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Spent two nights of our honeymoon at the Rosenhof in October and loved it.

The room was large and wonderfully decorated, and bathroom was a perfect size. Being able to sit out at the front with the table and chairs overlooking the garden is a huge positive, even though all rooms do, you never feel overlooked and it's a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere.

Location wise, it is at the end of the main street, but no more than a 10 minute walk away from the best restaurants. That said though, there's no need to go out as the food in the guest house is delicious. Breakfast as well was superb, highly recommended.

Staff and service was top level as well and certainly deserving of 5* and it was a lovely touch that they clean your car for you when you stay there.

The pool area is excellent and the comfiest sun loungers i've ever experienced!

If you want a relaxing time, in gorgeous surroundings, matched by amazing service, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vernonio35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sadly we only spent one night at this fabulous place on our Silver Wedding anniversary.
It was simply stunning. Manicured grounds. Individual rooms luxuriously appointed set around courtyard. We were pampered by the staff - sparkling wine, Rose petals in the bathroom. In short we wanted for nothing. The food was delicious served by the nicest waitress we have ever come across. She is an absolute gem. The hotel is a destination in itself and a wonderlful place to relax.
We would have no hesitation in coming back even though it is 5000 miles away from home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent two nights here visiting the region. This hotel is set in the grounds of an old country house, that are simply beautiful. The service is unobtrusive and the staff helpful.

Breakfast is served in either the breakfast room or gardens weather permitting. The breakfasts are the usual cold buffet and hot selection.

The restaurant in the hotel is worth a visit with an interesting menu and a good wine list.

If you are looking for a relaxing quiet private retreat then I would recommend The Rosenhof be on your list.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cabsavie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.1 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.7 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.1 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosenhof Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosenhof Country House

Property: Rosenhof Country House
Address: 264 Baron van Reede Street | corner of North Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rosenhof Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Rosenhof Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosenhof Country House Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing