We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and wonderfully different - a must do!”

Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: An unforgettable evening of live music and traditional South African food in the intimate setting of the home of the performers.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“Unique and wonderfully different - a must do!”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I went to the KKNK Arts festival and booked through computicket and didn't know what to expect. There were only seven of us as guests - they take12 max. The weather was poor so we were indoors. It didn't matter. When Sissy started singing a couple of metres away from us the atmosphere was indeed magical. Jaws dropped. Sissy and Joey were gospel singers moldered by Barry on keyboard into singing Jazz and Popular music. Joey cooked - and I've had many a poitjiekos - a really delicious one. We ate from a tray on our knees and had choc ice cream lollies for desert. All their guests receive a CD with the songs from the show. Afterwards we sat chatting for ages. Joey still lives in a shack in the township. We left as friends and will definitely be back next year. A unique experience with excellent South African food and great music performed by lovely people. It really is a must do.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    7
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gauteng
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Better than the caves!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and our four children and I shared a wonderful evening with Joey, Sissy and Barry. We really enjoyed the potjie, the conversation and of course the music. Highly recommended!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go do this!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Something completely different and special. Three people helping each other along on life's journey with their music and inviting you to share the experience over a potjiekos dinner and an evening of traditional and other music and singing. Barry and his keyboard are an amazing backing to Sissy and Joeys singing. We enjoyed the food and had a lovely evening. We wish Joey well with his new township tours. Go for that too. His great personality and insight into township life should make for a very interesting experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss this exerience - great music and good food”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Our B and B recommended MM as being the best (and infact only regular) show in town. We had a delightful time....something as tourists we have not seen experienced anywhere else in the world....a meal and show in the beautiful garden of a private home with 8 others (they restrict it to 10 guests). We felt like part of the family with Joey (who cooks and also sings with a lovely voice) Sissy (a fabulous voice) and Barry (who sounds like an orchestra with an amazing keyboard). The ambience and music - jazz, popular songs and some original songs - was - as they say - magical. Jazz sung in a gospel style is a wow! We served ourselves and ate the tasty food on a tray on our knees. We forgot to bring wine and it was provided free in unlimited quantities. Barry picked us up and dropped us off after the show....also no charge. Great value. Don't miss this if you are in Oudtshoorn.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical evening at Magical Moments!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I picked up the leaflet on Magic Moments at the local tourist office. The staff there recommended the place. It turned out to be a brilliant evening. The two vocalists Sissy and Joey have wonderful voices. They were gospel singers from the township (chatting with them after the show, we learnt that Joey still lives in a shack, in the township)who had turned to Jazz standards and popular music and were accompanied on keyboard by retired british ex-pat Barry. We ate a tasty traditional meal called a ‘poiky’ – kind of a fat free stew. As darkness fell the beautifully kept garden was illuminated which created wonderful atmosphere for us and the other guests. Don’t miss this show if you are in Oudtshoorn. The audience is limited to 10 so be sure to book for a special evening with lovely people. At 18 pounds its terrific value but remember to BYO booze.


Grainne, Dublin, Ireland

Helpful?
1 Thank Grainne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Magic Moments in Oudtshoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing