We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and nice setting”

Karoopot Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 43 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: Sushi, African, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Warm,welcoming and friendly staff awaits your arrival at Karoo Pot Restaurant - truely a jewel in the Karoo! Our traditional African cuisine can be enjoyed either outside by the fish pond, or inside where the fireplace lightens up the atmosphere! For the sushi lovers-come and meet our chef from China! Our Sushi bar is the only one in town with Chinese Chefs making fresh sushi everyday, and definitely worth visiting! Our mouth watering traditional food menu, will definitely make you want to come back again! We salute you!
Pretoria South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and nice setting”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Lunch and dinner was good, pub like setting but top quality food. Menu has something for everyone and the meat dishes are of a high standard

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathania R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    79
    47
    13
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service lets it down”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic sushi but really poor and inexperienced waiters let this lovely venue down. We were not given the opportunity to taste wine that we had ordered but the waiter simply went ahead and poured for everyone and that was the beginning of shocking service....... what a pity. Will definitely be back though as options are somewhat limited..

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoxanneInWilderness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
295 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Local is Lekker.”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Visited during our stay for the KKNK festival. Really worth a visit for good food in the area. We will definitely go back on our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Niel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“excellent sushi”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Originally crossed the road from our hotel(Queens Hotel) to take advantage of a nice glass of wine,in the afternoon as the sun was shining on their terrace.We saw some sushi being delivered to some tables near us and decided to give it a try.Excellent,some of the best sushi I've had,and all freshly made right in front of you.Add to that a sunny afternoon,friendly,attentive staff and you've got a winner.oops and of course the wife's company.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KZN,South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant athmosphere & good food!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Although very busu during KKNK did they do a magnificent job with food and service! Lovely open restaurant in main road of festival!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dancingqueen98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoopot Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Karoopot Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing