We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviewed March 4, 2013

An overnight stay with our two small kids. Booking in was easy and a pleasure via email and telephone. Cute rondavel next to pool. TV reception was a bit fuzzy though. Did inform ahead of time of our young children so the enormously high single bed and very strange and low pull out type chair for them was disappointing. Space was limited I know but we are used to two double beds at the Proteas when we stay with the kids. They then share the one. Wi-fi access was provided very promptly and we opted for room service with kids again, which was OK. Breakfast was good and staff there were very friendly. Our last concerns was that we felt we couldn't enjoy the pool with the kids with our elderly neighbour sunbathing topless and our other neighbours partied loudly till all hours and at the pool, which didn't help when getting the kids to sleep or for ourselves through the night. Nonetheless, we would try staying again sometime.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank peLIPPSTREU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 181 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Staff tries hard, phoned ahead to find out about arrival time and inform about specials. Well done, but on arrival A does not know what B does and there is obvious confusion. Some staff members read instructions before their shift, others did not. Rooms are ok, room no 25 is small. Would not recommand it if you have to stay longer. Noise travells well at this place. Breakfast buffet offered a wide selcetion and was ppened in time. Well done - specially in New Years Day!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frogy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was a bit concerned having read some reviews but found the property clean and well appointed (coffee maker, flat screen tv, desk, etc). The "rooms" are quite interesting - I was in a larger room than my friend and found that it was quiet albeit a bit cold even with the heater on as my room had higher ceilings than most. The bed was comfortable and front staff friendly to provide an adapter for charging. The location is fine if you have a car, as I was on a tour, getting to restaurants in town required a cab. The night I stayed the hotel restaurant was closed due to the local prom that was taking place there so I had to go to a restaurant in town. The buffet breakfast was filling and had many options. I think it is a fine place to stay for an overnight -

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philatravelgirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed 2 nights, good location around Oudtshoorn local tourist attractions. Well manicured garden. Good food friendly staff always eager to help to make you very comfortable. Convenient stopover .The rooms quite pleasant a little bit tight as i had a cot too. But overall i do recommend. Value for money.cherry on top are the 2 resident Ostriches. My Son loved watching them

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovelybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed only one night at the riempie estate during our trip in south africa.
The location is good and the gardens are quiet and well kept.
The rondavels are kept very clean but are a bit outdated. Good and helpfull personnel. If you are on the road this is a good hotel for a one night stop. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karine090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We only stayed one night whilst travelling the garden route and the hotel was fine, it was very quiet and we were actually allocated the honeymoon suite which was nice and had a sofa too. The rooms had most things you needed, except a safe, but they just felt a little dated, they had a lot of character as they are thatched rooms. It was cold when we stayed and the room heater did not work, being English I'm used to the cold but also used to heating! It could be a very nice hotel with a little modernising, fine for one nights stop over.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had our school reunion at this hotel and quite a few of the alumni stayed there as well. Elmarie Goosen, General Manager and her staff were superb in their service delivery. The property grounds are well kept and in an immaculate condition. The rooms is basic, but clean.
Elmarie and her staff organised the greater part of our reunion dinner without much input from us, as we stay 1 300km from there. The food was outstanding, the service even better! I would recommend anyone to stay over at the Protea Riempie Estate and with an open heart recommend using the Protea Riempie Estate for your functions!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManetteSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.2 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
1.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
330 reviews
15 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
1.2 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate

Address: Baron Van Reede Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Riempie Estate - A Cosy country atmosphere in a tranquil setting. Situated in a farm-like setting on the outskirts of Oudtshoorn, the Protea Hotel Riempie Estate is a charming hotel with well-appointed thatched rondavels, only 20 minutes away from the Cango Caves and moments away from the crocodile and ostrich farms for which Oudtshoorn is famed. Dine in the excellent restaurant and enjoy the best in country fare and hospitality. There are many facilities nearby; golf, squash, tennis, bowls and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing