We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although this was a large hotel and not a B&B like we usually stay in, we found it quite adequate for one night. Others have mentioned how old fashioned it is but we didn't find that at all. The room was fairly large, all the staff were pleasant and the breakfast had anything we could want.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 153 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed just the one night in this hotel, room was clean but very dated, staff were friendly. We got back from a Meerkats Adventure tour for breakfast a 9am and the choice for breakfast was poor and what was on offer had gone cold. Nice pool area and attractive grounds. Good tip for evening meal is to go to Nostalgie Resturant 74 Baron Van Reede Street, great food and service here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueyonderEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed just one night - very 80's old style. The room was clean and beds were comfortable but bathroom was tired. Needs updating desperately. Breakfast was good. Well sited for excellent restaurant Kalinka just across the road. We would not use this hotel again if given a choice. The staff were polite but not friendly.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank JennyBray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What can I say, we were looking for a roof over our heads for one evening. We didn't pay much, so didn't expect much. It's a typical eighties hotel in a Holiday In style. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was good. It's not luxurious and not groundbreaking in interior decorating. We payed R700 for a double room. This included breakfast. Great value for money! Internet connection in the lobby ONLY! Great restaurant right across the road named Kalinka. Will I stay here again? Maybe not, but was perfect for one night only.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same! 4 Floors, so probably better to be on the top floor overlooking the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were booked into this hotel for one night as part of a tour of SA - it was horrible. Just like a very tired business hotel but devoid of any character. One would have expected even the worst business hotel to have wifi somewhere - but we were curtly told that it was not available. Actually we weren't impressed by the town at all - but did stunble in Jemimas which is very close the The Pearl and had a great dining experience - just a pity we had to go back there to sleep afterwards

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We only stayed 1 night on the way through from Cape Town to Knysna as part of a garden route tour. I emailed the hotel a few weeks beforehand and requested a garden/pool facing room rather than a view over the car park. When we arrived around 4pm the guy on reception was very helpful and we got checked in quickly,

The room looked like it had been refurb'd recently and was huge. It was a ground floor room, i think the hotel was on 2 floors and to be honest isn't the prettiest of hotels, looks like more of a Pontins holiday camp type place (UK viewers will know what i mean!)
As promised, it had the pool/garden view though which was perfect. The weather was warm and we sat around the pool on the lovely loungers with a glass of wine, after a tiring although beautiful, 5 hour drive from Cape Town. We had a drink in the 'Feathers' pub also and they had rugby on the TV's. Nice little bar but very quiet everywhere being winter season.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was a curry buffet, tasty but not very warm but reasonable at 110 rand i think. Must have been 5 people having dinner in a 100 seater restaurant.

Breakfast was good, buffet style and plenty of it and this wasn't very warm either.

We didnt use any other facilities as only there for 1 night, but what we did use was fine and the staff were lovely as we found with everyone while in SA. We would probably stay again if ever in Outdshoorn, but its a bit out of town (although probably only a 15 min walk to the centre) and the pool would be great in the summer.

Room Tip: Request a pool/garden view room as the others overlook the car park/main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeandzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel is located within walking distance of the town centre and near some restaurants. When we visited for 2 nights it had had been partly refurbished but there was a way to go to bring it up to standard for its grading. Our room overlooked the garden/swimming pool and was quiet. The room was a good size with two comfortable double beds and was reasonably furnished. The bathroom was in need of some attention; the toilet did not flush properly and it was not repaired before we left. Mercifully the air conditioning worked well because it was very hot (35+) when we were there. Our room was kept clean. The breakfast was buffet style and comprised a good selection of hot and cold food and drinks. The restaurant was a bit dark and gloomy and we were told that it was going to be refurbished. We used the outdoor swimming pool which has a nice setting but had quite a few leaves in it and there were no chairs or loungers near the pool. We found the staff friendly and helpful, particularly in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the garden/pool have a better view and are probably quieter than those facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charnwood-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pieter v, Manager at Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2012

The Pearl of Oudtshoorn Hotel changed ownership in 2012. (Previously African Sky Hotel Oudtshoorn) The first phase of the refurbishment has now been completed with all new furniture, decor and guest amenities in place. Guests rooms are fitted with new television sets, furniture, beds, air-conditioners, telephones, curtains and linen. Guests will not be effected with the ongoing work (mostly behind the scenes). Welcome to The Pearl of Oudtshoorn !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
330 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
374 reviews
15.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre

Address: Cnr. Baron von Rheede and Van Der Riet Streets, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa (Formerly The Pearl of Oudtshoorn)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $60 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oudtshoorn Inn Hotel and Conferencing Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oudtshoorn Hotel Oudtshoorn
Oudtshoorn Hotel And Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing