We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Little Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Best Little Guest House
Ranked #24 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban
2 reviews
“A great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Situated on the main road to the town. Clean,well appointed comfortable rooms, good breakfasts, lovely grounds, with secure off road parking, all at a very reasonable rate, with Edy being a very friendly attentive owner. A really good place to stay, weather for a night or a few days. I would most certainly go back and stay here again when in Oudtshoorn, and would recommend friends to stay here.
Greg P, Durban

Room Tip: Look at trip advisor and see what others have to say..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
32
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We only booked one night in the Best Little Guest House but were absolutely happy. The guest house is a little bit outside of the city centre, so you need a car. The host is very friendly and gives a lot of tips and ideas for restaurants. The menus are also available at the reception. The rooms are very nice - everyone in a different colour scheme – and large. Breakfast is also nice (not included in the room-rate), but breakfast area would need a renovation to be at the same standard as the rooms.

Room Tip: All rooms have a different colour-scheme. We choose the 'red' one which is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bebbi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

What a truly amazing place. Very well maintained, clean and close to everything.

Free WiFi and a nice selection for breakfast.

Secure gated and covered parking area was great.

Opt for the in floor heating option. Very nice to step on to a toasty floor on a chilly morning!

Thanks to Denny, Edy and Rina our hosts!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were travelling back from Durban to Gordsons Bay and stayed the night aty The Best Little
Gues house, the owners Edy & Denny Fricke were very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay.
The place is beautifully decorated and the rooms comfortable, under floor heating great, lovely en suite bathroom.
Had a comfortable night and breakfast in the morning was good.
Thank you Edy & Denny we will be back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Hosts, Edy and Denny, we're very welcoming and warm. The room is a good size and has plenty of shelves and lots of hangers in the closet. We paid a few dollars extra for heat in our room and it was well worth it as the temperature dropped outside. I wish the bathroom was heated as well. Housekeeping does a wonderful job every day and breakfast, although extra, was worth it because the location is about 1-2 km from town. Strong wifi connection in room. Safe and secure, off street parking in a gated area on the premises. Tremendous value. I would recommend BLGH and stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank csinger13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was great! Very hospitable and we thoroughly enjoyed chatting. Would recommend this superb guesthouse to anyone wanting to stay in Oudtshoorn. Peaceful and quiet, child friendly and loved the underfloor heating! Thank you for a wonderful stay and we will most definitely return again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexgalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We truly had a wonderful experience while travelling through the Klein Karoo and staying over for only 1 night at Oudtshoorn. It is always a gamble and we travel with our 12 yr old Yorkie..... sometimes it can be troublesome as not all B&B's accept these little 4-legged companions.
The Best Little Guest House owners/managers however, were extremely accommodating regarding Morris. We had a lovely room overlooking the garden and swimming pool and not only Callie and me, but also Morris was very much at home!

We can truly highly recommend this quiet, homely Guest House for all travelers!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.7 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.8 mi away
Karoo Soul Travel Lodge & Cottages
1.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bisibee Guest House
Bisibee Guest House
#57 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
1.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
1.9 mi away
Cul De Sac Bed & Breakfast & Self Catering
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Little Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Little Guest House

Property: Best Little Guest House
Address: 15 Plein Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Little Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Little Guest House is a unique Bed and Breakfast situated in South Africa's picturesque and historic town of Oudtshoorn, Klein Karoo. It has been especially designed to cater for the needs of travellers who can relax in a quiet, friendly and secure environment. Your hosts, Edy or Rina, offer warm hospitality in an informal and comfortable atmosphere, dedicating their time to assist travellers make their Oudtshoorn experience memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Little Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing