We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B & B with lots of history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Adley House
Ranked #27 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“B & B with lots of history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

The main house exhuded the charm of a past era. We had a most warm welcome from Hilda who clearly enjoys sharing her beautiful home with visitors. We had a room in the annexe which was very comfortable. As for the breakfast, taken on the verandha it was without doubt the best we had during our South Africa holiday.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    7
    9
    5
See reviews for
21
47
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Adley House in room #8 (a family room) inside the house. The room is big and separated with curtain between the 2 bedding areas. The back door opens to an open back yard which we like it very much. We always sit at this area for playing and having snacks.

The hotel is near the centre but walking distance about 15 minutes. Shantel, the staff, is very very friendly and can recommend us good place for dinner.

We like best - big nice room with open back yard

We like least - Even though there are 2 pools, but the pools are quite small
- We like to sleep without air-conditioners because it was quite cool, and there were some mosquitoes inside the room.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Koelnsperger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by a very friendly girl who settled us in. Our room was large and equipped with everything you might need for the stay.
The bathrooms in particular were well kept and clean.
Having tea in the garden is one of the experiences I really liked. The garden is beautiful and has two swimming pools which is so nicely hidden, a babe with a big bottom like myself can easily enjoy.
The staff is very friendly and yes ... it is all true what I've heard about the breakfast ... it is truly unbelievable!
If you like old-world charm with modern facilities where you will be well fed ... then Adley House is the place for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoebasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2010

We have stayed at Adley House in Oudtshoorn before, the owners have upgraded the rooms in the main residence, and added two beautiful rooms to the house with large bathrooms and private garden areas.
The gardens are absolutely beautiful, with trees and flowers in full bloom. The place is as beautiful, and staff as friendly as ever.
We can recommend it for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Australiantravelmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2009

I did my booking with a 50% deposit. My dates changed and I asked them to accommodate me or give my deposito or just a part of the deposit back, but they refused.
Totally disappointed!!

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2009

We stayed one night at the Adley, the main house is lovely, we were in one of the seperate rooms which was nice although not as plush as the ones in the house. The service was friendly and the gardens lovely to lounge in with a beer after a long drive. They recommended Jemimas (great restaurant), gave us directions to the caves and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAM_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed at Adley House as part of a 14 day trip to South Africa. After a long drive we were very pleased when we pulled up outside Adley House as it looked very lovely. We were taken to our room which was within the main house and was horrified at the sight of it. Dark, dingy, 1970's decor, shiny bedspreads and a tired beige bathroom. The MFI wardrobe in the corner and the terrible oil paintings made my heart sink. The amazing breakfast as according to their advertising was a very pleasant but ordinary affair in an old fashioned dining room setting. and Hilda's homemade bread turned out to be a sliced loaf. We decided to check out as I couldn't stand the though of a second night here when all the other accommodation on our trip had been so fantastic. From the other reviews it seems the annex rooms are better but I would suggest to anyone going there please don't stay in the main house it is depressing.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank amoroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.0 mi away
Advocate's Manor
Advocate's Manor
#23 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.1 mi away
Miles B&B Guest House
Miles B&B Guest House
#17 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Roux's Guest House
Le Roux's Guest House
#15 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
5.6 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adley House

Property: Adley House
Address: 209 Jan van Riebeeck Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adley House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1905 by Sidney Herbert Adley during the 'Ostrich feather Boom period' 1880 to 1914. This magnificent Sandstone Victorian Homestead is situated on an acre of land in a quiet up market residential area near to the centre of town. Rated 4 stars by the S.A. Tourism grading council, it has 14 Air Conditioned, individually decorated rooms with T.V, tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryers, bar fridge and all the necessary amenities to make your stay most pleasant. Relax at our 2 pools in our well kept English Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Adley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing