We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful find!”
Review of Adley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adley House
Ranked #26 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sicily
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful find!”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

After driving around Oudtshoorn looking for accommodation we stumbled across this beautiful and relaxing little gem. The entrance is through a beautifully manicured garden into reception where we found a very helpful lady. The price was very reasonably (Infact too cheap for what we got), the room was a bit old and flowery but it was clean and gave us everything we needed for an over night stay. We found a fantastic restaurant just 5 minutes walk away called Nostalgia! Breakfast was served outside overlooking the very picturesque gardens, a very relaxing way to start your day! Value for money!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thelemontreesicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    30
    8
    9
    5
See reviews for
22
50
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed there just for one night, my husband, my friend and myself.
We booked two rooms.
The owners are really nice people.
The rooms are ok, the decoration was not our favourite, perhaps we are still a bit young for so much flowers and kitsch.
That would have been no problem, if the rooms had been clean.
But they weren´t.
In the evening it seems to be normal (we had the room nr 9) that sweet brown beetles come into your room to visit you.
They are very small, so they fit unter the door of the room and they don´t look nasty, just beatiful.
But when I put the beetle out again, I took a carpit in the room and put it before our door, so that they couldn´t come in again.
And in the carpet, there were 3 dead beetles and one dead fat midge.
That is something I don´t like. I think rooms have to be clean.
Also in SA this is possible, other hotels like the Impangele in Swellendam is cheaper, than this one and their rooms are more clean too.
So all in all that´s something we didn´t like.
Also people there are not that nice.
The garden is very beautiful and in the evening we saw a very nice place, we thought it would be for everyone, because you don´t exactly see, that it belongs to another room.
And when the guests of this room came back, their behaviour was very stupid.
They sat to us and all I thought was `Oh, people are so friendly here, you can just sit together, not like in Germany´.
But soon, she started to explain, that this would be their terrace, that it belonged to their room.
So we explained that we didn´t know that.
But the problem was, she said ´it is ok, we can use it together, but...`
And she told us, that she would go to the owner and tell that other people came there, that she were sure, that we had a cheaper room, than them and that they paid for it and such a nonsense.
I hate stupid, arrogante people who are too stupid to say what they want.
It would have been ok, if she had told us to go.
But who had booked a more expensive room, I don´t think that this is important.
So...we had no luck with this accomodation!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jupi257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrybigones
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Beautiful gardens, very comfortable room, and a great breakfast. Really was like staying with a friend, flowers in the room etc. We loved it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barrybigones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

For the first time on this trip we did not pre-book accommodation or had access to 'Trip' reviews.
We booked Adley House as a drive past and on the presentation of the grounds and overall look. Hilda showed us a room and we were delighted. Huge bedroom and bathroom, gardens and terrace with orange trees!
Breakfast was lovely in a wonderful large sunny room, the grounds and pool I am sure would be glorious in the summer.
Thank you Hilda for the freshly picked grapefruit!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milkyway1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

All the guest houses we stayed in while touring South Africa were very nice, but Adley House stands out as one of, if not, the best. We had a room across from the main house. When we walked into the room the first thing I noticed was the large bouquet of fresh cut flowers. The room was large, with an area to sit inside as well as a small table and two chairs outside on the front terrace. The shampoo and lotions were imported form the UK, there was an honor bar with several different bottles of wine, a very comfortable bed and good lighting to read at night. Adley house also had decent wifi, which we hadn't had in days! We had dinner at Adley House, sitting outside at a large table with our group and it was fabulous. Due to chilly weather we had breakfast inside, rather than in the garden, and it was delicious and very plentiful. There are so many lovely places to sit and read or just relax. Splendid guest house.

Room Tip: The row of rooms down the driveway are all very nice. There are also two very large rooms at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed at Adley House recently and enjoyed the whole experience. It is a beautiful house set in lovely gardens close to the centre of Oudtshoorn. The rooms are beautifully prsesented and are spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were wonderful with a good variety of food. I would certainly recommend this guest house and look forward to returning there when we next visit Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittledogNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Early 20th Century guest house set in very pretty gardens and a calm,relaxing place to stay. The staff were helpful and readily provided a map of the town plus recommendations for restaurants and local attractions. The breakfast was very good and plentiful. We only were in Oudtshoorn for one night to didn't have much time to explore the area much or use their pool!
If we return we would definitely stay at Adley House again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeuxCarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.5 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
556 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yamkela Guest House
Yamkela Guest House
#15 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
532 reviews
0.6 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
9.4 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adley House

Property: Adley House
Address: 209 Jan van Riebeeck Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adley House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1905 by Sidney Herbert Adley during the 'Ostrich feather Boom period' 1880 to 1914. This magnificent Sandstone Victorian Homestead is situated on an acre of land in a quiet up market residential area near to the centre of town. Rated 4 stars by the S.A. Tourism grading council, it has 14 Air Conditioned, individually decorated rooms with T.V, tea and coffee facilities, Hairdryers, bar fridge and all the necessary amenities to make your stay most pleasant. Relax at our 2 pools in our well kept English Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Adley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing