We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
De Poort Country Lodge
Ranked #17 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not too far from the caves De Poort Lodge is a very nice place to stay at. The owners are very helpful, providing copies of maps without even being asked after checking where we were heading.

Room was very spacious, comfy and clean. Of course with the traditional thatch roof there is the occasional bug, spider or ant but that's just the way it is. The view was spectacular.

Breakfast was lovely, one of the best we had on our trip. I specially liked the buffet style as you can choose what and how much of it you like. Very fresh fruit salad!

The pool was also very welcome as it was very hot on the day we visited. It could be cleaner, I believe the pump didn't work but it was still totally fine for swimming and cooling down.

All in all very repeatable experience. Love to watch the birds in the garden. Very helpful and friendly people !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globe_watching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
There are newer reviews for De Poort Country Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 61 of 61 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2012

We came as a group of six to this gorgeous place late one evening after a stressful day and delayed journey. We were warmly welcomed and shown to the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in. They were clean, comfortable, and there was incredible attention to detail. Breakfast was unbelievable! And we were well looked after by the owners who helped us to plan our activites - nothing was too much trouble for them! We would come back tomorrow!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleyovo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Nestled in the hills, his was the nicest of the hotels we visited on our holiday withe explore worldwide. a nice welcome and very comfortable, but not luxurious rooms. The breakfast and brei were also lovely. Cycling back to the hotel was a holiday highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danberney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The De Poort Country Lodge is located about 15km from Oudtshoorn not far from the Cango Caves . The rooms are spacious and clean with attractive furnishings. There are a few easy walks near the lodge or you can relax by the pool and watch the colourful birds flitting in and out of the trees.. A good location if you want to stay out of Oudtshoorn but be near to the Caves and Ostrich Farms. We were given a warm welcome by the owner.
There are lots of steps up to some rooms and dining room so may not be suitable for someone with disabilities.

Room Tip: The 1st floor rooms have huge vaulted ceilings and the views from the balcony are lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JWN1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
492 reviews
8.9 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 49 in Oudtshoorn
896 reviews
9.3 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
551 reviews
4.7 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#7 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Poort Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Poort Country Lodge

Address: R328, Schoemanspoort | 15 km from Oudtshoorn en route to Cango Caves, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $57 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — De Poort Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your De Poort Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing