We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of Su Casa @ Surval

Su Casa @ Surval
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I hadn't intended on stopping by but came across it while on Route 62. As soon as I walked into reception, I experienced BRILLIANT SERVICE! I enjoyed my light lunch and wine with a beautiful mountain view. Just lovely.

1  Thank KhosiNikita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Good day

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

I am so happy that you discovered us along your travels and I trust we will be seeing you again on your next trip on through.

Many thanks
Surval Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 123 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The decor in here was beautiful. There is a little stream up front and if it has been raining it is best to use the back road, depending on the vehicle you have. I found the place to be very stylish and modern, a big contrast to everything else we experienced in our road trip. I had the seafood pasta and it was good, definitely can be shared though.

2  Thank RionaArjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Good day

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

Yes being that we are still on a fully functioning Olive Farm we are slightly at the mercy of the weather, however this being said we are in the karoo so high rain fall being an issue is only for a very limited time of the year and as mentioned there is an alternative route for those occasions.

As for the sea food pasta I agree with you it is a wonderful tasty dish

Many thanks
Surval Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Restaurant is situated on an olive estate a few kilometres north of Oudtshoorn. We were offered a table on the outside veranda which, as it was a nice clear, warm evening, we accepted, only to find that apparently the evening was too chilly for any other customers and we were out there on our own. Never mind....the service and attention afforded to us was superb. So many different members of the staff came out to check that all was OK and to just generally chat. Eventually two other couples took other tables outside with us so we ended up with 6 of us out there. Lovely setting, again one which needs to be appreciated first in daylight.
Menu was very good, plenty of choice, and our meals were two of the best we had on our trip, all very nicely presented too.
We would definitely recommend and would return to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fully1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This was a fantastic recommendation from the lady at the Info centre in town to stop here for lunch. Perfect on a sunny day to enjoy views over the valley and working farm. Extended thanks to Anton who went above and beyond to make our visit so enjoyable. A truly stunning venue.

Thank capetownmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Good day

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to hear that you had a good lunch at Su Casa @ Surval. we have passed on your thanks and appreciation to Anton who is also competing in the junior sommeliers competition at the moment.

Many thanks
Surval Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

A lovely restaurant on a working olive farm; excellent winelist and unbelievable setting! Stay over in the boutique guest rooms - they are amazing

Thank CelineRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Good day

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant visit with us at Surval. Yes indeed a beautiful stop over for a traveler.

Many thanks
Surval Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Casa @ Surval also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Su Casa @ Surval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing