We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our first choice, but worth a visit”
Review of Su Casa @ Surval

Su Casa @ Surval
Ranked #8 of 43 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not our first choice, but worth a visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Su Casa is definitely worth a visit if you have more than one night in Oudtshoorn. The food was good, but we had been somewhere better the night before which really set the bar. The olive tasting was great and they have some lovely products for sale. Service was a little too attentive, but rather that than none at all. The Belgian waffle for dessert was the best I have ever tasted!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carriig_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on trip advisor

The olive tasting has been a recent addition to Su Casa as we are in our first harvest year, it has been an exciting component showcasing a variety of styles of olives products. From an exceptional Extra Virgin Oil to a interesting products such as Olive Jams and Chutneys.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    32
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Enjoyed so much we are going back for our pre wedding stay!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were taken to Suval by family as they said that the website just does not do it justice! How right they were!

We had a walk around the gardens, took a peek inside the chapel that can double as a conference location, walked past the rooms and had a sneak peak at the honeymoon suite as it was being prepared for new arrivals. The swimming pool and lawns have a spectacular view of the snow capped Swartberg mountains.

We were then taken through to the restaurant where you had a choice of either sitting outside under a roof with open sides (which can be closed if the wind picks up) or inside where there was a roaring fire and many little rooms where you could call "private spaces".

The food was good when it arrived, it was delicious and a lot of local touches with also an European flair about the presenting as well as with the taste. The bar was well stocked with many a whisky on show and you can walk past the wine cellar on the way to the loos....

We ended up inside for the desert and coffee part when we met the owner and his wife Michelle. They arranged that we were brought the best hot chocolate where they serve you the hot milk with the thick dark chocolate on the side which you pour yourself... The deserts of Crème Brulee as well as a choice of warm baked pudding finished the evening off. The owner arranged for us to try his chocolate port which was a locally produced and just been added to the menu.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed the evening, the venue, the setting of the African sun on the Swartberg mountains that we decided to return before we headed back to the UK.

When we did, we decided that we would book 2 nights at this resort before our wedding at Buffelsdrift game lodge that is only a short distant away.

Thanks guys for a great visit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Good day and thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.

It is always pleasing and wonderful to see as people discover all the hidden gems and curios corners that are on the estate. Spaces for families to enjoy as well as private intimate corners for couples to share a special moment. Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to spoiling you on your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“TOP”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Well done, lots of private spaces. Menu a bit short, but what you get is excellent. Service sometimes slow, but if you ask the extra step, you get it with a smile. Outside well maintained garden and inside fire place and heated rooms to be very relaxed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful sundowner/dinner spot”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Beautiful setting and the food was good. We had ostrich fillet which was done to perfection! There is a good home made jungle gym for young kids/toddlers cleverly located at the one end of the garden where you are out of sight for people that want to enjoy a peaceful and quiet dinner. Get there before the sun goes down so that you can enjoy the scenery and the sundown.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciska_Terblanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you o much for taking the time to review us on trip advisor, we pride ourselves on being available to everyone. it is such a joy to have the laughter of children at Su Casa as they along with their parents have a pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We are so glad we found this place. Great location, great wine, great food, superb service with a warm welcome. We would also like to stay at the hotel now but already booked a different accomodation. A romantic oasis in the Little Karoo.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilsebil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Su Casa @ Surval, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Good day and thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor.

We are so thrilled to hear you had a wonderful meal and enjoyed the service and experience with us, it is indeed a pity that you where not able to enjoy a stay in the hotel as well but it is a great excuse to make a return to the karoo.

Warm Regards from the Surval Boutique Olive Estate team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Casa @ Surval also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Su Casa @ Surval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing