We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Outshoorn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Ranked #7 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best stay in Outshoorn”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

This boutique hotel is wonderful for a long, relaxed visit or just for an overnight stop. The pool facilities are beautiful and well kept (there is an outdoor jacuzzi as well). The rooms are large and spacious and ours had a full bathroom, two flatscreen televisions (With cable), well stocked mini-bar etc. It is away from the bustle of town and you are guaranteed with a good, quiet, safe and dark night's sleep. The breakfast is standard, but of high quality. You will fall in love with the setting, which is breathtaking.

Room Tip: The family rooms are great - the kids get there own space, as do the parents!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

We are so happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one, we do pride ourselves on creating a space for families to have a good, happy and safe stay, and as you mentioned to allow parents to also have a bit of time to themselves. we also have a jumping castle and jungle gym for children on site.

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    73
    32
    10
    3
See reviews for
87
135
5
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Reception on arrival fantastic and well organised. Rooms spacious, neat and clean (weather forecast a lovely touch). Restaurant service slow. Problems with card machine lead to double payment - still not reversed and no response to e-mails is very disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alet F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

Thank you for the kind words on how you well where received at Surval and the quality of the rooms during your stay with us. I am aware that there was an issue with the signal of the credit card machine for a time as the cellular provider had a slight issue with coverage in the area. I do know that your refund has been made and you should be able to see that with out any issue at all. should their still be anything outstanding, please feel free to contact the hotel.

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Our 3 night stay was first class from the moment we arrived till we left. Room and bathroom was well equiped. Staff friendly and professional. Breakfast and dinner was out of this world - better than some 5* hotels! Daniel especially needs to be mentioned - great staff member!! View from the hotel is wonderful and we liked the many places one could sit and relax.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

We are so happy to hear you had a good stay at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, we do strive to a high standard in customer service and the restaurant is certainly of great pride to all of us at Surval.

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Surval is in a beautiful setting just 5km or so to the north of Oudtshoorn. We had a spacious suite with 2 double bedrooms and a separate bathroom. The restaurant is very nice for both breakfast and dinner and there is an attractive pool area for relaxing when the weather gets too hot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank suzieNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

I am so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our scenic hotel. It is indeed a beautiful location and yes the pool is certainly a relief from the scorching summer sun

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jhb
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

The guest family room was great. The decor was refreshing and up to date with trends. The only suggestion is to increase the dinner options on the menu, and to improve on the restuarant service.Breakfast was awsome.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

We are happy to hear that you had a good stay at Surval. We have recently updated the dinner menu with a few exciting dishes on the horizon, we have also had two of our chefs entered into competitions lately (one of which has already taken place) and we are seeing some exciting innovative meals developed

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

In a honeymoon suite you expect some privacy, which you do not get when the room is located next to the public lounge of the hotel. We could hear everything that was said through the thin walls. So vice versa.
The toilet in the suite should be separate.
The location of the hotel is exquisite, with a nice pool.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

the honeymoon suite is indeed off the hotel guest lounge but this lounge is exclusively for the use of hotel guests as there is a waiting and lounge area at Su Casa restaurant. I am however happy to report that we have enclosed the toilet in the Honeymoon suite and updated images of such will be on the website shortly.

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Botswana
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Fantastic! Lovely setting, great friendly staff and good food.loveto comeback for longer. The only slight disappointment was the bike track which is under construction. Really nice place and would highly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc L, General Manager at Surval Boutique Olive Estate, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us on trip advisor

I am happy to announce not only is the bike track fully running but on the 29th of March we hosted the Second Surval Mountain Bike event, we have incorporated the track on the estate its self and extended it to cover 70km of cross country track during events. The track on the estate is self is a 2.2km loop that starts and finishes at Su Casa restaurant and guests are able to post their times on a time board at the info center

Many thanks
Surval Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
3.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
4.3 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
4.8 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
844 reviews
5.2 mi away
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant
8.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surval Boutique Olive Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surval Boutique Olive Estate

Property: Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Address: R328 Cango Caves Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Surval Boutique Olive Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surval Boutique Olive Estate is situated about 5 km from Oudtshoorn on the R328 towards the Cango Caves. We offer 31 luxurious rooms in our newly restored 18th century homestead. The estate boasts both a fine dining restaurant overlooking the spectacular Swartberg Mountains and the Schoemanshoek valley as well as a beautiful functions venue. Our team promises to make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Surval Boutique Olive Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing