We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC FOOD... PITY SUCH POOR ATTITUDE”

Brian's Grill and Family Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 45 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Price range: $3 - $12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Brian’s Grill & Family Restaurant, established in September 2010 in Oudtshoorn is a family dining restaurant, with great ambiance. Our restaurant boasts of well prepared a la carte dishes and we are open from 08h00 to late, 7 days a week. We cater to every taste as we offer a variety of dishes including Ostrich, Crocodile and Venison.
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“FANTASTIC FOOD... PITY SUCH POOR ATTITUDE”
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Have had incredible meals there recently. But 2 nights in a row experienced poor service from the same waitress (assume headwaitress). The first night was more than tolerable, the food was great and our waiter was very good (a guy who had served us before). However upon arrival on the second night... i brought along 10 family members and gauranteed them they would not find better food in town - we were told you were full. Outside area was very busy and inside area was empty, with only one 2 seater there. Spoke to the barman who asked her if they could seat us, and from the waiting area we could hear the same waitress saying NO! they are too busy!! Similarly, the night before when we were not entirely welcomed, and told we might want to go elsewhere as the waiters are quite busy. I understand it is a peak time of year and everyone is tired... but this left a very bad taste in our mouths and was not a disrable first impression on my family members. The restaurant could easily have seated another 20 people inside. The evening resulted in me taking my family elsewhere, where we had terrible food and wasted a lot of money. This was not a good impression on Oudtshoorn in general. Stuck between a rock and a hard place, not knowing whether we should return in future for the good food... or go else where for better service, and a few smiles.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    90
    49
    23
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good family option”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

Good option for families expecially with small kids. Nice outdoor seating area. Steaks, Burgers and salads are safe bet.

Helpful?
Thank THC61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“so good service, good foot, but also when you lost something”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Each year i travelled a lot. With my photocamera i'm always travel for inspiration.
Daily i work as a director of an creative compagny. This year i visit south africa and eat in Brians Grill oudtshoorn. The foot was very good and the atmosphere and waiters also.
After my diner i forgot my camera. Because i was traveling it was the next day i noticed it.
Back in Holland i send an email to brian grill...... They found my camera!!!
Jacques, the manager, i'll send it to holland with dhl.
This is so good! So good service.
I cannot say how happy i'am. Thank you. People... go for this good restaurant in this beautiful place Oudtshoorn.

Jacques and all the staff of Brians Grill, i wish you all the best.
When you visit Holland, please come to my place, i give you a warm welcome.

www.janklaassen.nl;Geert Prein

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janklaassen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly place serving good meals”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

No frills but hearty, well prepared dishes. Very friendly service.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank C_C21755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Service - Great Food”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Good South African food - well priced. Kids play area might need some attention. Overall a pleasant experience

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank HotelManager076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brian's Grill and Family Restaurant also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Brian's Grill and Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing