We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Nostalgie

Nostalgie
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oudtshoorn
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nostalgie, is one of those places a person goes back to time and again. That speaks for itself so not going to harp on the fact that it has a lovely atmosphere, that the food is always good and that its priced just right. One word describes it. MAGIC!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oudtBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    161
    48
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a restaurant! I took a chance on this place after finding it on TripAdvisor, and thank God I did. It's an unusual place when you first walk in, like stepping into an old fashioned convenience store with wood counters and glass jars, then walking through into the store owners front room. But it's so comfortable and the food is amazing. Again, the waitress couldn't do enough to help. My partner and I had three courses each (so big I didn't manage to eat everything on my plate, but I wanted to!) with coffee (one of them with liquor), a bottle of wine and water, and all for less than the equivalent of £21 in total. For the quality, quantity and ambience of this lovely place I'd have paid five times more. Nostalgie, please please please open a place in the UK! Thank you so much for a truly lovely meal and experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_W_01032017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dining on main street.”
Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Great find. Excellent food, reasonably priced and homely setting (We sat in the garden). Service was a little slow although there was only one waitress roaming about. Would I go back... YES!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 602allanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Adhorable and 100% Authentic”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you're looking for genuine South African cuisine this is the most authentic culinary experience you could hope for. The hostess/chef/Owner is a warm and welcoming lady who knows her stuff. The decor is enchanting and nostalgic and made me homesick for something I didn't even know I missed.

I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiquitaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
173 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you're in Oudtshoorn, you must eat here!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I loved the place from the time we walked in, the decor was so different and interesting. We had friendly service and most importantly, the food was amazing. I had the lamb shank stew and it was heavenly. My boyfriend tried one of the home made pies and quite enjoyed it too. And to end of the meal we had the cheesecake and it is one of the best cheesecakes I have ever had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RionaArjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalgie also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Nostalgie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing