We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food in a friendly atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nostalgie

Nostalgie
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food in a friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We were recommended to Nostalgie, and it felt like we were eating on the verandah of someone's home, which was a good thing. It's a small but very friendly restaurant, and the food is excellent, with a good range, and plenty of local South African delicacies to savour - you just have to try the ostrich! The staff were very helpful, and always smiling, even we they had to tell my wife that her much anticipated dessert had run out, which is to be expected in a restaurant of this size. We had a very enjoyable meal, in a lovely, relaxed atmosphere, and the only question is how they did it for the price! Great value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philmitchell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    153
    45
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We had a fantastic dinner on a very busy Saturday evening. As we had no reservation, we had to wait a bit but it was well worth it. Our ostrich steaks were cooked to perfection and the service was very friendly. Wonderful experience - we liked the old vinyl records as placemats!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wynand2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quirky”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good home cooked food and very good service out on verandah. Good range of food. Very good value fir money and easy walk from lodge

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue3254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Honest home cooked delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Had lunch here with my husband today and we both really loved the food and the atmosphere. The decor is retro but comfortable and it works. The menu is interesting and We can understand why people go back time and time again. A word of advice read ALL of the menu before deciding what to choose as some dishes are in different sections. I had an ostrich burger, not over cooked just right and my husbands bobootie was exceptional. The portions are generous but not over facing or wasteful. We would have liked to have finished with home made milk tart but it had all gone. To be fair it was after 2pm and I suspect its a local favourite so order in advance! The malva pudding and ice cream was yummy.
We were served by a young lady called Christine. She was helpful, efficient and what a lovely smile. Sad to say we were only passing through so it maybe some time before we can return but it is definately on the list for another visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely quirky place with wonderful atmosphere and gorgeous food. We had a lovely meal here, sitting outside in amongst the fairy lights in the garden

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DandR-Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostalgie also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to Nostalgie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing