We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY, VERY NICE B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Earthbound B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Earthbound B&B
Ranked #4 of 74 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
cape town
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“VERY, VERY NICE B&B”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My husband, I and another couple only stayed one night at this B&B. We were welcomed by Beverley a fantastic hostess very helpful and friendly.Both rooms were very clean with large beds and the bathrooms have big showers.with all the amenities of a 5* accommodation, robes, slippers and even a after shower/bath hair wrap. A complimentary small bottle of Port wine was at our rooms
Though it is a B&B, the rooms have a fridge, microwave, crockery, cutlery, a small table and braai facilities. Very quite area with secure parking inside the premises. A Very generous breakfast was served in the patio by the pool.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The room outside the house, by the pool has an outside sitting area. Ideal for sun downers or a pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sollymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback. It is much apprediated. We are always strifing to do our best.

keep well and regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    75
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
70
358
20
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were heartly welcomed at the gate by Beverly, the host. Our room was large, comfortable, and very nicely decorated. The bathroom, was to "die" for. We've been to a few guesthouses and this one was by far the best. The price and what you get for it - absolutely reasonable and a must for any person to try. You really won't stay anywhere else after you've been here. The linen and towels - awesome. The only "bad" for us was.......the bed was fine for 2 days however too hard for our bodies by the 3rd day but overall 10/10 on service, food and decoration!!!
Thanks Bev for being such a fabulous host!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 33Tia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Hi Thia,

Thank you for the lovely review. I feel very good about your compliment for my decor.
I really enjoy doing it myself. Hope the bodies recovered after the 3rd night (hie hie)
Keep well and a lovley 2013 wishes for you all.

Kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My wife and I loved our time at this lovely B&B. The host was so friendly and could not do enough for us to make our time special.

The rooms are fantastic, and are easily 4/5 star quality. The braai facilities are the best I've come across and the host joined us for some wine in the evening, swapping stories, tips and teaching us about the local culture and history.

On the edge of town in a quiet area, it's only a stones throw away from lots of local shops and restaurants....but have a go and cook yourself your own dinner on their well appointed braai ;-)

Simply amazing and would highly recommend staying here to anyone visiting Oudtshoorn!

Room Tip: Ask for the "owners room" when you're booking. Bit pricier, but it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caycu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for this lovely. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Earthbound B&B
We wish you all the best for 2013.

Kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Marie and her staff are hospitable, welcoming, and always ready to be helpful without intruding. We were welcomed with cheer, then offered sherry in the garden on the patio outside our door. Our room was large, comfortable, and decorated with care and creativity. When my notebook computer would not connect to the Earthbound WiFi, Marie lent me hers for the evening. When I misplaced my credit card, Marie found it at the restaurant where we had dined. We were very glad we went via Oudtshoorn instead of heading straight up the Garden Route, and very glad we stayed at Earthbound. We took a dirt sideroad up into the hills, recommended by Lonely Planet, and it was indeed on the the best drives in South Africa. The overlapping ostrich-feather-ranching and Jewish histories of Oudtshoorn, once known as Little Jerusalem, is fascinating. See museum here & the Jewish museum in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rik214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hi Rik,

This was soooo nice to read and to hear from you again. Thank you for your lovely review. Hope to see you one day again.
Keep well and kind regards from us all
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for a night en route from Plettenberg to Cape Town. Earthbound is an exceptional guest house with lovely rooms, tremendous attention to detail and delightful hosts. It is also amazing value for money. It was a shame we were only there for one night. The rooms are very well eqippped and laid out, the garden and pool are lovely and having breakfast as a family at the side of the pool was delightful. The guest house is about 25 minutes walk from the centre of town where there are several excellent restaurants. If we return to Oudtshoorn ( our trip was essentially to see the Ostriches at the Highgate farm where we had been before - shame we did not check as the farm is currently closed because the flock had to be destroyed because of bird flu - the alternative we found - Safari, was not as good) we will certainly want to stay at Earthbound again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you very much for this lovely review. Always a pleasure to serve our customers.
Hope to see you soon.
Kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Felt like a visit to someones home. This small-town is full of little B&Bs and this one is particularly good value and has some special rooms. This place does a nice breakfast to your door and also has well equipped rooms, so you get a decent standard for a very good price. Owner was friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed in a huge room at the back of the house. Very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Hi,

thank you for this lovely review! We love to make our visitors feel special and to give them good value for money.
Hope your 2013 year will be full of good things happening to you.

Kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We felt very welcome from the start. Clean rooms , comfy beds with tasty sweets on the pillow was waiting for us. Host is charming woman, gave us all nessecary for braai. We enjoyed our evening with bottle of wine, eating ourselves made braai and swimming in the pool. Highly recommend. Would stay there again. Breakfast served very nicely in beautiful and romantic atmosphere.
Felt like we are in 5 star hotel. Superb!

Room Tip: All rooms are good))
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malinka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hi Malinka,

Thank you for your kind and lovely words. It is always a pleasure for us to make all our visitors feel welcome and give them value for money. Hope you have a lovely 2013.

Kind regards
Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
549 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
508 reviews
1.0 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#7 of 74 in Oudtshoorn
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbound B&B

Property: Earthbound B&B
Address: 19 Naude Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Earthbound B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming bed and breakfast is located in Oudtshoorn's peaceful countryside. It is set in a tropical garden and offers an outdoor salt swimming pool for relaxation. The air-conditioned rooms at Earthbound B&B are bright, modern and with wooden flooring. They include a flat-screen TV and a kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. Bathrooms come with signature toiletries. Breakfast is continental and if you desire anything else, this could be done by arrangement. Earthbound is close for visiting the famous Cango Caves (3okm) and Swartberg Pass. Other places to visit are the Cango Wildlife Range, Buffelsdrift Game farm, Ostrich farms, Surval Estate, Museums and Meerkat Magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Earthbound B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing