We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“homey and comfortable”
Review of Earthbound B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Earthbound B&B
Ranked #3 of 79 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Felt like a visit to someones home. This small-town is full of little B&Bs and this one is particularly good value and has some special rooms. This place does a nice breakfast to your door and also has well equipped rooms, so you get a decent standard for a very good price. Owner was friendly and helpful

Room Tip: We stayed in a huge room at the back of the house. Very unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandG16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Hi,

thank you for this lovely review! We love to make our visitors feel special and to give them good value for money.
Hope your 2013 year will be full of good things happening to you.

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 599 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We felt very welcome from the start. Clean rooms , comfy beds with tasty sweets on the pillow was waiting for us. Host is charming woman, gave us all nessecary for braai. We enjoyed our evening with bottle of wine, eating ourselves made braai and swimming in the pool. Highly recommend. Would stay there again. Breakfast served very nicely in beautiful and romantic atmosphere.
Felt like we are in 5 star hotel. Superb!

Room Tip: All rooms are good))
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malinka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hi Malinka,

Thank you for your kind and lovely words. It is always a pleasure for us to make all our visitors feel welcome and give them value for money. Hope you have a lovely 2013.

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Earthbound B&B on our way across the R62 during our recent trip to South Africa. Due to a "misunderstanding" we did not end up in the room we originally booked, so we got a queen-size bed instead of a king-size - life is sometimes very hard on us;-)
The upstairs room we actually received was very tidy, very nicely arranged with an eye for detail. The bathroom was terricifc and the small kitchen area that we had to ourselves created some sort of a homely and very private atmosphere for us. I highly recommend this place for any couple that comes to Oudsthoorn for one or a few nights.

Room Tip: Take the upstairs room (unfortunatly I do not have a name for it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kai E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Hi,

Thank you for your lovely review. This is much appreciated.

Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

When looking for accommodation in Oudtshoorn we were lucky enough to find this wonderful establishment via the Internet . What a great find !!!!!

After having stayed in numerous B&B’s in Sa and abroad we have to say that this B&B was better than many other places and what a wonderful experience we had there for our 2 night stay in November 2012.

The B&B , with secure off- street parking , is in a good area , peaceful street and is in a modern , exceptionally well maintained property with a delightful garden and outdoor area including a sparkling pool and braai facilities.

A great feature for us was the outstanding attention to detail in the room, and everywhere else for that matter . There was absolutely everything you could want in the room .

The owner is extremely helpful and friendly ( ie even lending us her laptop computer to look at emails ) and you can tell that she is passionate about her establishment and this makes it an absolute pleasure to stay here.

We were in the standard room – Room 1 – and although its small , its perfect in every respect and more than adequate. The shower in this room is a good size ( bigger than in a lot of other establishments ) , and we were told its the smallest shower of all the rooms !!!! We saw the other “ luxury ‘ rooms and the appointment of them and the attention to detail is really amazing.

To top all of this off is the price ! The costs are exceptionally low ( priced per room , not per person ) and fantastic value for money and if you consider all of this you could not get better accommodation in Oudtshoorn and perhaps the rest of the country !!

We cannot recommend this B&B more highly and will return !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billdelange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Hi Bill,
Hope all is well?
Thank you soooo much for the lovely review, kind words AND the nice fotos! You are correct about me being passionate about my small B&B. We will strife to keep this standard high.
It is people like yourselve that makes it all worth our while.
Keep well and kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for one night , on our way to Knysna . Room was small , but had everything required . Room service was excellent and they serve tasty breakfast in the morning. Excellent B&B !! Special mention to staff and the owner for everything , They made us feel like Home :)

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny2683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for this lovely review. It does our hearts good. We will strife to keep this standard at all time. Much regards from us all. Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in november 2012 for only one night ( unfortunately), but it was wonderfull, the room and service were great. Excellent spot when passing through Oudtshoorn, with an eye for every detail in a B&b!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AN9911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to do this review. It is much appreciated from us all.
Keep well and safe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

A great stay. Everything from the beautiful decor, the surroundings, the friendly owner and the breakfast was great. We loved it and if our path ever goes by oudtshoorn again. We'll definetely stay at Earthbound again. Best B&B so far on our SA trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basjan2, Owner at Earthbound B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Hi Trine,
Thank you sooo much for your lovely review. For us at Earthbound it is much satisfaction to get reports like this. We will keep up with the good standard.
Also hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
1.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
1.7 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.9 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earthbound B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earthbound B&B

Address: 19 Naude Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $55 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Earthbound B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming bed and breakfast is located in Oudtshoorn's peaceful countryside. It is set in a tropical garden and offers an outdoor salt swimming pool for relaxation. The air-conditioned rooms at Earthbound B&B are bright, modern and with wooden flooring. They include a flat-screen TV and a kitchenette with a microwave, small fridge and coffee/tea making facilities. Bathrooms come with signature toiletries. Breakfast is continental and if you desire anything else, this could be done by arrangement. Earthbound is close for visiting the famous Cango Caves (3okm) and Swartberg Pass. Other places to visit are the Cango Wildlife Range, Buffelsdrift Game farm, Ostrich farms, Surval Estate, Museums and Meerkat Magic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Earthbound B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing