We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly beautiful hosts and a wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Yamkela Guest House
Ranked #13 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Truly beautiful hosts and a wonderful stay”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were lucky enough to stay at Yamkela for two nights on our recent trip to South Africa - what a relaxed and welcoming experience we had! Una and Charl, the owners, were so helpful with information about Oudtshoorn, things to do and places to eat. In addition, they cooked a great breakfast (certainly amongst the best we had in our entire month in SA) and made us feel comfortable, secure and welcome in their guesthouse - it was really a cosy couple of days which cured any homesickness we were feeling!

The room was very spacious, with a big bathroom and secure private access to the property. The room opened onto a lovely shared courtyard and pool - all in all we thought the value for money was excellent, particularly given the high level of service combined with a homely feel. The location of Yamkela is on one of the main roads in Oudtshoorn, but a few blocks from the 'main part' of town, which we liked. There are at least 2 wonderful restaurants within walking distance (there are a couple of other restaurants which Una recommended also within walking distance, however we only ate at 2 so can only vouch for the quality of those!).

We would defineitly recommend Yamkela to friends, family and strangers - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soozler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    37
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
36
38
12
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2012

After a day of climbing in the Tsitsikamma and a long drive on a very hot day we found that the first guest house we stopped at was full and they sent us on to Yamkela . What luck the first one was full, we had a lovely experience at Yamkela. The owners Una and Charl were delightful and very helpful. The room was very comfortable overlooking a very pretty garden with a pool that was bliss. I would recommend staying here and if you are looking for agastronomic delight you only need to wander next door to Kalinka.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher1sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Yamkela guesthouse. Upon arrival we received excellent explanations on the things to do around Oudtshoorn. This made is very easy and efficient to plan our day. Also breakfast comes with a surprise every morning. Rooms are spacious with good beds. Excellent value for money compared to others we have used.

Room Tip: Twin/bouble beds or shower/bath, it is all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2011

My family and I stayed at yamkela guesthouse in June. What a treat ! Probably the best value for money in town !! The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Our room even offered french doors opening onto a central courtyard & pool. In the morning we received a full breakfast, complete with fresh fruit salad, cereals and freshly prepared bacon & eggs ! Charl & Una were amazing hosts adding a warm hospitality that makes you feel right at home ! We can recommend this little Karoo gem to everybody !!! Treat yourself and book a stay !

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CB810625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2011

good location, right next to the best restaurant in town. very friendly owner / staff.. good brekkie. rooms are ok, partially refurbished. quiet area, very clean. all good

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susannita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Una and Charl made my stay in Oudtshoorn so wonderful. The room was comfortable and very roomy. I cannot say enough about the lovely breakfast they provide! One of the best I have had at any accomodation. The place is very quiet and relaxing. Very easy to find on the main street. Within walking distance to many excellent restaurant options. Yamkela has a homely, welcoming feel which is owed not only to its classy decor but to the owners who do a wonderful job of making sure all of the guests have a pleasant and comfortable stay. Would highly recommend this to everyone, the best place to stay in Oudtshoorn!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
489 reviews
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.6 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
562 reviews
0.1 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yamkela Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yamkela Guest House

Property: Yamkela Guest House
Address: P O Box 670, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Yamkela Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover serenity, luxury and privacy in the heart of the Klein Karoo at Yamkela Guest House. Our stylish and comfortable 4-star guest house is ideally situated in a quiet residential area, within easy walking distance from the center of town and several excellent restaurants. A sparkling swimming pool with wooden deck chairs is available for our hot and sunny days. We personally run our guest house assisted by our loyal staff. The tranquility of Yamkela will restore your soul and you will feel right at home with our friendly and professional service and special attention to our guests and their needs.All our elegant 10 double rooms are air-conditioned with an en suite bath room and its own private entrance. 5 rooms have a queen bed and a shower, 2 rooms have a queen bed and a bath, 1 room has two twin beds and a shower and 2 rooms have two twin beds and a bath. Rooms can’t accommodate more than 2 adults. In Room Amenities are 30+ Dstv channels, tea and coffee making facilities, bar fridge, hairdryer, safe box, fully serviced daily, strictly no smoking in rooms, no pets allowed. Other facilities are WiFi and off-street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yamkela Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing