We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not pre booked but we were lucky” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not pre booked but we were lucky”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had not booked this accommodation but when we arrived we were lucky to get a room. Emmas cottage.Our hostess was very welcoming , offered us dinner which was wonderdul.
We could not stay for breakfast as we needed to leave early but I am sure we missed a treat.
This place was luxury and nothing was too much trouble. I really recommend it. We found it in the Portfolio collection of accommodation.

Room Tip: You cannot go wrong in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hedleyhouse63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    15
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
76
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was my idea of paradise. Wonderful hospitality, beautiful setting, fabulous food. The four of us stayed in a lovely house across the river from the main buildings. The rooms were immaculate with lots of nice touches and the setting divine. Kobus even ferried us backwards and forwards for dinner. Dinner was superb - certainly the best Ostrich steak I have ever had and the ambience was very relaxing.Breakfast out on the verandah was something else with plenty of delicious food. We were slightly disappointed the find that most of the Ostriches had been culled because of Avian flu. Nontheless Kobus took us out to see those that remained and we had a fascinating session with him discussing Ostrichs while feeding the birds. one thing to be aware of is that this accommodation is about 30k out of Oudtshoorn. We had not realised this and so arrived later than we were intending after quite and exhausting day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GazT007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Peninsula National Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Being in the hospitallity industrie myself ( guesthouse in Simon's Town), we often trie out other establishments.
I would sincerely recommend this establishment as being one of the absolute top places I have ever stayed in. Hosts,staff,accommodation,food, attention to every smallest detail. Dinner and breakfast were far better than we could ever have imagened . The best ostrich steak I had in my life. Keep up the good work. Perfect job very well done.
I travelled with my brother from Holland and sister from Paarl exploring the Karoo.
All 3 of us came to the same conclusion " Rietfontijn is top of the list" we were surprised to see that they were only 4 star. We all felt that we were treated with genuine warmth and hospitality not often found.

Room Tip: 5 star value and treatment in a 4 star establishment charging 3 star prices. Highly recommended be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise and Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

What a stunning place to stay. Kobus & Elmare are wonderful hosts nothing is too much trouble. we stayed in Emma's Cottage and that was so lovely with all the extra touch's. Elmare is an excellent cook, dinner's were amazing and as for breakfast 5*. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Having booked ahead for a group of 4 and 1 child, we arrived in two cars at different times. As a couple with a two year old we were put into a room. All ok so far. We unpacked and went to see about booking dinner when it became obvious they weren't expecting 4 people. We were told we would have to get out of our room.
We then packed all our stuff up and put it back into our car. 4 staff sat arouns and watched, not even an offer to help. After packing up I then asked where we were going and we told we had to wait for someone else to come. At this point we wondered if there was even another place available here, but when pressed no answer was forthcoming.
We decided to think what we were going to do and entertain our child by looking up the garden. Then the manageress came up to us and basically said she was sorry but it was our fault over the booking. When we started saying thats not right she turned her back on us and walked away. Having spent the week around the Karoo and had fantastic hospitality we were shocked by this.
Judging by the other reviews this may have been a bad day, but I know I won't be going back there. We stayed in Calitzdorp and had a great evening there.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2012

We love this farm! Elmare and Kobus are excellent hosts and I could eat at the Restaurant happily every day for the rest of my life! We stayed in the Hoepoe cottage-again!- still great, clean and wonderfully quiet at night under millions of stars.
Oh, I wish I can go again soon.....

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Just half an hour west of Oodtshoorn, this ostrich farm is a wonderful place to stay - large, confortable and very clean rooms, excellent food, either for breakfast or dinner (try the ostrich steak). Prices are similar to other places..
The owners are very friendly and will take you to a tour to the ostriches (too expensive) and will show you the place.
Staff is very pleasant too.
Internet access!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
19.1 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#4 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
16.7 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
2.7 mi away
Red Stone Hills
Red Stone Hills
#8 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.8 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#7 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
17.5 mi away
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
Mooiplaas Guesthouse
#6 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
31.0 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 47 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rietfontein Ostrich Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rietfontein Ostrich Palace

Property: Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Address: On Route 62 | between Oudtshoorn & Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rietfontein Ostrich Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The World's Oldest Working Ostrich Farm established in 1879, offers you 4 Star (TGCSA graded)and AA Superior accommodation in restored farm cottages.Restaurant offers you local and ostrich cuisine.Daily guided ostrich tours. Birder's paradise.Explore the Cango Caves, drive over the Majestic Swartberg Mountains to the little town of Prince Albert back to Rietfontein via Meiringspoort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Rietfontein Ostrich Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing