We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hosts in Oudtshoorn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #5 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Perfect hosts in Oudtshoorn”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had a lovely stay in Oudtshoorn owing in a great part to the hospitality and local knowledge of our hosts, Linda and Phil. The Gumtree is perfectly located with a quiet, peaceful setting and the recently remodeled rooms are top notch with wonderful amenities. The breakfast was excellent with a lovely display of local cheeses, yogurt and homemade breads. Would return in a heartbeat.
Highly recommend the Gumtree, from the welcoming glass of local port in their fire-warmed bar to the gracious and personal service. A must place to stay when visiting Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkabout855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    106
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
135
304
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
seminyak
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spend two nghts with Phil and Linda who were great hosts. Highly recommend the Guntree Lodge if you are looking for a stayover in Outshorn. Unfortunatly there was a power cut in the area, on the day of departure, so a bit inconvienient, but Phil and Linda had a back up plan and managed way and beyond. Great breakfast, grounds and location and ideal for families. many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CraigSeaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Arrived after a long day of travelling and visiting customers and arriving at Gumtree was a most welcome relief and felt like being back at home. Rooms are tastefully decorated and ample in size and well appointed. Enjoyed a drink with Phil and Linda in their lovely pub. Phil kindly organized our restaurant booking. In the morning we enjoyed an excellent breakfast and can thoroughly recommend Phil's Ostrich sausage. The best surprise of the whole stay was the bill, exceptional value for money. Wifi was excellent and free and the shower a total blast with oodles of piping hot water.
Highly recommend that if you need accommodation in Oudtshoorn you cannot do better than Gumtree Guesthouse

Room Tip: If you are a double and like to snuggle up then make sure you ask for a double bed, my room was two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed with Phil & Linda in GumTree for 2 nights and really did not want to leave.

The accomodation was very clean and comfortable with a nice seating area outside of the room on the raised deck. The rooms also have free wifi that worked better than any other establishment that westayed at.

Bathroom was small with the most powerful shower that i have ever experienced.

As mentioned by others the breakfasts were wonderful with an amazing selection of jams and relishes and the Ostrich sausage was a very nice touch. The bar thathas been recently added was also a great wayto spend an hour or so before dinner and allowed us to chat with Phil and Linda who have the most incredible local knowledge and make sure that you use this resource as we were never let down by Phil's recommendations (Phil please start a blog of what to do)

Coupled with the incredible value for money this is an amazing guest house and for sure we will returningin the near future, if we can ever get a reservation - this was one of our highlights of our vacation

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grahamstown, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very comfortable, clean, well appointed rooms. Friendly host who made us feel comfortable and accommodated us in every way possible. Great local knowledge and excellent reference for dinner! Outstanding breakfast, great variety of food and well presented! Thanks Phil!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2013

we toured for three weeks and this was the best accomodation we experienced. Everything was perfect. The host Phil and Linda fantastic. Will stay there anytime when I and family are in Oudtshoorn. Can only recommend this place with the greatest confidence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at The Gumtree. Unfortunately, we arrived a little bit too late to watch the sunset in the beautiful and peaceful garden, where many birds find their home. Our advice: don't be late! :)

Phil is a very kind and helpfull host, with a good sence of humor. We even had the opportunity to choose between different rooms. The rooms are nice and clean, and in the winter season they are equipped with electrical blankets (what a joy in those cold nights!). Breakfast is included, good but not exceptional.

Room Tip: We had the opportunity to choose between a room with a double bed next to the kitchen and small bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miquette85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
520 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Property: Gumtree Guest House
Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing