We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top rating deserved!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Like all other reviews, we can only agree that The Gumtree is a eminent place to stay. And how many places can you enjoy to cool down in the pool with a magnificent view of the Grobbelaarsrivier, the suspension bridge, and the mountains in the distance.
In our opinion The Gumtree is in fact the best choice for a stop on the Garden Route anywhere between Cape Town and PE.
So what can we add to all the other appraisals? Well, try and visit the aftenoon bar and have a chat with Phil an Linda. You'll soon know that they've got wit, world perspective and on top of this they even have a detailed knowledge about things to do (and don't) in Oudtshoorn and the region based on their personal experiences.
The only problem is that you might never want to leave the bar - but then again - Phil can get you seated in the best local restaurants (e.g. Kalinka) with short notice.

Whenever we're ever going to be within a radius of 250 km of The Gumtree, we would definitely return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeJeWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 568 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a service! We felt pampered when even the drinks were served at the pool and Phil recommended the classiest restaurants in and around town. The family units were excellent value for money, cosy, decorated with love and extended with newly put-in bathrooms. Wifi was on the house and the Ostrich sausages for breakfast came with every possible variety of eggs, cooked by th lady of the house. Come and see, relax and enjoy! Thanks for a wonderful night - I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HillaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed for one night at The Gumtree in May 2012 during a road-trip around the Western Cape and wished we had time to schedule in another night! It is a wonderful little house down a quiet street, with stylish, well equipped bedrooms and the best breakfast spread we experienced in SA! Phil is a fabulous host, and quickly had us enjoying some of the local tipple at the private bar before watching the sunset from the lovely veranda. A gem of a place. Thank you very much Phil.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I think everyone becomes instant friends with Phil and Linda. They offer a warm welcome, a lovely, clean, well appointed room, helpful advice, great hospitality and a wonderful breakfast too.
All in all, a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chattycathy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We received a warm, friendly welcome from hosts Phil and Linda and from the moment of arrival they couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable. The accommodation was fantastic value for money-spotless, comfortable rooms, good beds, hot water and strong shower. The B&B is centrally situated for a stroll into town but down a quiet street with little through traffic. In the morning, Phil transformed himself into the chef and cooked up an excellent breakfast which set us up for the day. Linda's fruit salad was delicious and her piping hot, home made bread just as tasty. Phil made us eggs to order and the coffee hit the spot. All-in-all this stay was a highlight and a great stop for those exploring the area. Phil sent to Colony restaurant for excellent dinner.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tottenham68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed for two nights, and the way Phil and Linda (Philinda, ask for the story!) treat their guests is just lovely and warm.
The huesthouse is beautiful, the breakfast very, very good. All local products, and Phil loves to tell about them.
When you visit Oudtshoorn, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for one night with another couple on our way east.
Would recommend this establishment as others have done. Initial enquiries dealt with quickly
Very welcoming with offer of drink. Rooms very good, service excellent, good recommendations for local restaurants with an excellent breakfast. Many thanks to them

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbruceroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
501 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
563 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $69 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing