We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful owners and facilities (including Wi-Fi extenders!)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 81 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2012

What a surprise to stumble upon this gem in South Africa! Aside from the warm greeting by Phil and his wife, we were most impressed by the meticulous care in which Phil takes with amenities and advice.

First off, we had the best Wi-Fi connection at this little guesthouse than in almost all of southern Africa (in part, I think, because of Phil's background in IT). We could make calls on our Wi-Fi connection via our phone to make arrangements, etc., where at other places the boasted "free Wi-Fi" was laughable.

Second, Phil steered us away from overpriced but cute looking restaurants nearby, and made us a reservation at a great little Italian place that had great pizza and other options. We really like people who are frank and give real opinions about things, rather than "Oh, everything's great!" Everything's not great, let's be honest.

Lastly, Phil hooked us up with a last-minute deal at a big hotel in Port Elizabeth, since we had an early-morning flight to Zimbabwe and no place to stay in between. What a sweet hotel! And they gave us an upgrade to one of the suites with an Eames lounge chair and lots of other things that shouldn't be in hotel rooms.

Anyway, the Gumtree is a terrific base for your stay in Oudtshoorn, and it's mostly because of the people who run it!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (609)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 610 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

Phil and Linda are great hosts. The place is very nice and has a good location.
And i definitely should mentioning the breakfast. So many tasty thing there! Almost everything from local farmers. Great cheese! And also they make bread themslves.
Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had a lovely warm welcome by Phil , and indeed a wonderful breakfast the next morning served in a lovely room . However clearly none of the above reviews were for the seperate cottage ... it can only be described as a tatty scruffy bedsit . the bathroom is in fact a shower room , and its a section of second (small bedroom ) cordoned off by sliding door that doesnt shut. Access to it is through second bedroom which is not ideal in the night if sleeping in lounge/kitchen/seating area. Definitely would not stay here again

Room Tip: DONT stay in the cottage , cannot comment on other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THC61, Owner at Gumtree Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2012

Hallo J,

Thank you for your feedback - both the positive and the constructive.

For your information, work begins this Friday on the cottage bathroom which will be tiled, door fixed, etc. We will also do various additional upgrades on the cottage in the coming months which we believe will meet with the approval of our guests.

Your concerns are noted and we will do our best to address them all.

Thank you.

Phil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Our stay couldn't have been more pleasant. Phil and Linda are super nice and very helpful! My friends and I had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend The Gumtree.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxchristinaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

I was about to write that it's the hosts that make all the difference. Well, they do (Thanks Phil!). But then that would not be doing justice to the rooms (nice, clean), the lodge (nice pool, view, super location), or the food (everything local: cheeses, yoghurt, ...).
We stayed two nights and wished we had time for more.

We are already looking ahead to staying there again in our next South Africa vacation!

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank TomFromStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

The Gumtree was exceptional value and I would not hesitate to recommend it if you're visiting the area. Three of us stayed there for one night and the owners were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms (we had 2 rooms in the cottage unit) were very clean, very well stocked and comfortable with 1 double and 2 single beds. The single beds were a tad bit small but I think they are meant for children. The bathroom was a little 'exposed' in that the door doesn't shut properly and it opens out immediately onto the bedroom, but facilities were just fine. The light broke into the main bedroom very early though as the curtains don't keep it out too well. Breakfast was included and was a buffet bar as well as a cooked dish so you can't complain. For what we paid (approx £70 all in) you can't ask for more. If I was going back to Oudtshoorn, I'd stay here again without a second thought.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Nice rooms, very good location and ultra friendly staff!!! Phil is very helpful!!! He will recommend you great restaurants

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarSca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
535 reviews
15.8 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 81 in Oudtshoorn
583 reviews
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 81 in Oudtshoorn
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $78 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing