We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy b&b with great service,good standard rooms and pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed for 1 night at this lovely b&b.Phil and Linda offer an excellent and personal service.the b&b keeps very good standard and has cosy rooms and à pool.this is the place to stay when you come to Oudtshoorn!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swedie_globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 568 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

We stayed for one night with two small children and my only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer! We stayed in many places on our Western Cape tour and The Gumtree stands out as one of the best. Clean, unique, personal attention without being intrusive and one can't but notice the effort that is put into making your stay as comfortable as possible. Local produce is used throughout, from the divine chocolates on our pillows to the breakfast jams/cheeses and not to mention the fresh homemade bread! My husband is also still raving about the pork sausage from the local butcher......rare to get a good one in SA! Phil & Linda have a great knowledge of the area, attractions and alternative routes to take and were the most perfect hosts. We even embarrassingly left with the room key, discovered when we were well on our way down Route 62, and Phil came to collect it half way so we wouldn't have to go back. What a gent!! Looking forward to re-visiting the beautiful town of Oudtshoorn and The Gumtree.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roisin_corr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Great host and hostess; excellent breakfast service, great location. Their great suggestions and friendliness made a huge difference in our experience in South Africa. will definitely recommend others to stay here...

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

When you first arrive at The Gumtree & led around to your room you come across your own little personal oasis.
The rooms are spacious, clean, tidy and hold beautiful furnishings.
The hosts Phil & Linda are lovely, welcoming people & The Gumtree is in a perfect position to access all that Oudtshoorn & it's surrounds have to offer.
The dining precinct is in walking distance from the guest house & have some beautiful places to dine.
The gardens & atmosphere at The Gumtree are perfect.
Also the complimentary breakfast with the freshly baked bread is a must.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We would have liked to stay longer with this friendly and helpful couple. Best breakfast we ever had during two weeks in Southafrica. The host is really interested in food, which reflects in the breakfast served.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_C21755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Ok, let's just start by saying Phil and Linda exceed experiences we have had in 5 star hotels at triple the prices. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and that all of your needs are taken care of.

The location is ideal, directly in the center of town but in a quiet, enjoyable side street that you would never know you were "downtown".

The breakfasts were amazing, local cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruits and eggs made anyway you could desire. They were only perhaps seconded by enjoying the evening at the bar with some local wines Phil and Linda had discovered and served at fair prices and big glasses...

The rooms had everything you could need, were spacious and well decorated. The warming feeling when you walked in just gave you a hug and welcomed you to your temporary home.

It was a bit chilly for the pool, but we enjoyed the garden and some sun on the spacious deck and garden area. This really didn't feel like we were in the center of Oudsthoorn!

Phil was quick on the phone with the local restaurants to arrange dinners and Linda even walked with us for some local shopping of great Ostrich leather products. She introduced us to the shop owners and even recommending what purse was best for my wife.

All in all, you couldn't ask for a better place or a better experience that Phil and Linda provided.

Room Tip: All of them were great, we had the corner room but I don't think you could go wrong with any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACitizenOfTheWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place leaves it's SA 3 star rating way behind. Great location for the town and the rooms are fine. What make the place different are mine host and his good lady for whom nothing is a bother. They will recommend restaurants, give directioins to popular local tourist spots and any other advice you need. A welcome drink of white port awaits you in the quaint little pub they have and breakfast is what ever you want it to be. I would highly recommend this place to anyone coming this way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomsonjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
567 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $70 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing