We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gumtree Guest House
Ranked #4 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Ok, let's just start by saying Phil and Linda exceed experiences we have had in 5 star hotels at triple the prices. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome and that all of your needs are taken care of.

The location is ideal, directly in the center of town but in a quiet, enjoyable side street that you would never know you were "downtown".

The breakfasts were amazing, local cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruits and eggs made anyway you could desire. They were only perhaps seconded by enjoying the evening at the bar with some local wines Phil and Linda had discovered and served at fair prices and big glasses...

The rooms had everything you could need, were spacious and well decorated. The warming feeling when you walked in just gave you a hug and welcomed you to your temporary home.

It was a bit chilly for the pool, but we enjoyed the garden and some sun on the spacious deck and garden area. This really didn't feel like we were in the center of Oudsthoorn!

Phil was quick on the phone with the local restaurants to arrange dinners and Linda even walked with us for some local shopping of great Ostrich leather products. She introduced us to the shop owners and even recommending what purse was best for my wife.

All in all, you couldn't ask for a better place or a better experience that Phil and Linda provided.

Room Tip: All of them were great, we had the corner room but I don't think you could go wrong with any of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACitizenOfTheWorld68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 568 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place leaves it's SA 3 star rating way behind. Great location for the town and the rooms are fine. What make the place different are mine host and his good lady for whom nothing is a bother. They will recommend restaurants, give directioins to popular local tourist spots and any other advice you need. A welcome drink of white port awaits you in the quaint little pub they have and breakfast is what ever you want it to be. I would highly recommend this place to anyone coming this way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomsonjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Arrived on the night with no booking and were well received and felt immediately at home. The restaurant recommendation was the best food for the whole trip, even the Zebra! Also loved trying boplaas port. Great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catkinzpurrfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Phil and Linda are a great couple and make this place a great place to stay. Phil is excellent at giving advice and as a barman at his own littel bar, The place has a lovely homely atmosphere which encourages guests to chat and mingle, although if you wish to, there is so much choice of seating areas in the garden and around the pool, you can keep yourself to yourself if you wish to. We stayed in the largest room with ensuite bathroom which I understand is the next one to be refurbed. Easy, secure parking. The couple work hard for you and deserve five out of five.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewschofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Phil was an excellent host, with some great and practical advice. He ensured we had great breakfast, recommended a good restaurant for dinner, and was a good conversationalist.

I would recommend that they get their tv upgraded as the cathode ray tubes are a dying breed. Otherwise we had no concerns.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etownfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Gumtree and had a wonderful time.
The room (no.7) was clean, cozy with air-con and electric blanket which was great.
Breakfast was perfect.
Excellent location : 3 minutes walk to town center.
The hosts Linda and Phil are the best ! very welcoming and charming who know everything and gave us lots of information about the area and good recommendations which all came
up trumps.
We would highly recommend this Guest House to anyone seeking a stopover in Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ramnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Was a very nice stay owners had great knowledge of the local area and futher affield too. very helpfull in all aspects of our stay as well and were very accomerdating *bad spelling sorry*.

would highley recommend this to anyone looking to stay in the oudtshoorn area.

will definatly stay there again when i am next back in africa

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelb1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.9 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
1.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Oudtshoorn Riempie Estate
0.4 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gumtree Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gumtree Guest House

Address: 139 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $69 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gumtree Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gumtree Guest House is one of the finest in Oudtshoorn, overlooking the Grobbelaars River and the historic Suspension bridge. This guest house offers luxury and charm, in the shade of a century old giant gumtree. Close to town but with a beautiful view, many restaurants and attractions are within 5-10 minutes walking distance for guests. Our rooms offer the comforts of air conditioning, ceiling fans, hairdryers, toiletries, beverage packs, electric blankets, TVs, tea/coffee trays and minibar fridges. Each room has its own external entrance. Amenities available to guests include laundry services, Wifi and Internet Access, and telephone/fax facilities. We are fully licensed and offer a cosy bar which is ideal for pre-dinner cocktails or post-dinner nightcaps and features a fireplace on chilly winter nights as well as satellite television. Our breakfast features as much locally sourced produce as possible and we offer Continental and cooked breakfasts. Barbecue facilities are available near the pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Gumtree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gumtree Hotel Oudtshoorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing