We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveler rating
386
96
14
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
386
96
14
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink honesty bar splash pool private deck fellow guests one night decking area guest lodge superb hosts lovely place owners and staff each evening garden route little touches nice room delicious breakfast town centre
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hospitality, the breakfast, the room, the honesty bar. It was perfect. We will recommend it to orher people. One night was to short. Nice restaurant close to the b&b called Nostalgie.
They wash your car in te morning!

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rmeyer704260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertG-Otto, Owner at Riverside Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for awesome review score, kind words and recommendation!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Albert & Elza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

a fabulous two nights spent with lovely hosts .Albert and Eliza offered great advice on what to do in the area.Honesty bar was a great idea and breakfast was top class.Location is excellent and there a re loads of things to do in the area

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank _colcloughm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertG-Otto, Owner at Riverside Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Dear John

Thank you for the fantastic review score, kind words and compliments!

Conversations with our guests ranging from informal chats, "deep" discussions about sport and not to mention solving the world's political issues, make what we do so much more special.

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very pleased that you savoured our hearty breakfast.

Do visit us again!

Kind regards
Albert & Elza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in one of the two chalets. It had been spacious and ideal for our family of three. Albert and Elza made us feel like at home from the beginning. We arrived after a long flight from Europe to Cape Town and a 4 and 1/2 hour drive from the airport that day to find out we came to the right place. The warm welcome is unbeatable followed by great dinner recommendations and things to do near by. The weather wasn’t good but we still enjoyed every minute. I just want to conclude my review by saying people like Albert and Elza make our world better. Thank you two for the memorable stay with you.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Gerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertG-Otto, Owner at Riverside Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2019

Dear Gerry

Thank you for the awesome review score, kind words and compliments!

One of the lodge's primary objectives is to make every stay memorable at home away from home.

Our cheerful guests eager in anticipation to visit the attractions in the magical Klein Karoo, chat in our bar, engage in conversations with us and the other guests on the deck provide the life and energy of the lodge. Without them, it is just a building filled with antique furniture.

Thank you for the numerous conversations and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cozy log cottages!

Do visit us again!

Kind regards
Albert & Elza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

The hosts were very welcoming and extremely helpful with locations to eat and adventure. They were very accommodating with guests braaing at their facilities and using their store rooms for bicycle storage.

There was a clear sense that their guests needs came first and then their own.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iscrim646098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertG-Otto, Owner at Riverside Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Dear Ian

Thank you for the kind words and positive review score!

Kind regards
Albert & Elza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2019

Riverside Lodge is clean and the owners are very accommodating . The breakfast was awesome and had a wide variety of options to choose from. I loved the concept of an honesty bar. The beds are very comfortable and crisp sheets with enough blankets in the cold weather.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dputte370926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlbertG-Otto, Owner at Riverside Guest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2019

Dear Deirdre

Thank you for the positive review kind words and compliments!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay!

Kind regards
Albert & Elza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews