We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it !”
Review of Riverside Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

When we checked-in we received a very warm welcome from Dianne which made us feel at home straightaway. The manager Samet was also so nice and very attentive and was always wanting to make sure that we were completely satisfied with everything during our one night stay. She recommended an Italian restaurant for dinner called Bella Cibo and it was wonderful and the prices were so reasonable. This was our first visit to South Africa and we didn't know that it would be such fantastic value compared with the U.K. for food and wine and the quality of both is first class. We were booked in one of the Luxury Double rooms. It was a very spacious room with attractive traditional furnishings and like everywhere else we stayed in South Africa it had a large bed with a firm mattress which was so comfortable. The Riverside's terrace must be the best place in Oudsthoorn to sit and have your sundowners with its beautiful views across the river, the countryside and the mountains in the distance. You really feel you are in Africa ! They have a small bar just off the terrace where you help yourself to whatever you want ! It is an Honesty bar so you write down what you have and pay at the end of your stay. The morning we left we went to the Cango Caves which were about a 45 minute drive from Oudsthoorn. They are really worth seeing. You can also visit Ostrich farms. We hadn't realised how magnificent the scenery was going to be with some beautiful mountains. We had thought one night would be enough but if we hopefully get the chance to go back to South Africa we would plan for another night here so that we could really explore the area - and have some more sundowners on the terrace !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookGlasgowScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 337 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

After our stay at the Garden Route Game Lodge we moved on to Oudtshoom. We had seen a program about the Gango Caves and wanted to go there. We stayed at the Riverside Lodge in one of the two tree house type log cabin, it was huge. We again did a self catering and the cabin was great, we ate on the outside deck looking over the stream it was excellent. The owner gave my wife who is a vegetarian some free range eggs so she was happy, spent our first evening sitting by the braai which the host light for us, a helpful couple.
If you are vegetarian look for the FRY's vegetarian food it was excellent I found myself switching to vegetarian food.
As this was now the end of our second week in our two month tour a visit to the "Wishy Washy" laundry was in order..... that's the name of the shop - honest, drop it off and pick it up later all folded. Next stop Addo Gateway Lodge.

If you go to Oudtshoom a visit the Gango caves about 35k drive is a must they are awesome.

Room Tip: Try the tree shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Italyinjune07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Amazing hosts, top class accommodation. We were three single adults staying in the tree house. It was extremely comfortable. The hosts went out of their way to make us feel like part of the family. We were continuously being surprised by their efforts to do things for us, leaving us wanting for nothing. The breakfast was really good. Lovely location, secure close to town yet feels as though you are in the country.
We only stayed two nights but left feeling we had made two good friends . The photos on the web do not do it justice. The decor is rich and homely. This really was the optimum stay on our journey through the Karoo and such good value.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I booked this guesthouse from the UK for my Dad's 70th birthday. I called the owners and advised them that it was a surprise and that I had booked a Hot Air balloon trip for the day after their arrival at 05h30. I asked them to include dinner and please look after my folks as I could not be there. Well, these people went out of their way to be the exceptional hosts I had dreamed of. Flowers, chocolates, champagne! Early morning wake up ... breakfast on return ... gorgeous dinner .... My parents had the most intimate and friendly experience. They MADE my Dad's birthday special and for that I am eternally grateful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Odie101644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Our party of 4 adults stayed for one night in early Feb. 2013. My wife and had a room in the main house whilst our friends had the unique experience of sleeping in the tree house. Expecting a climb we were surprised to see the entrance a ground level and It's not until you are inside that you can appreciate it advertised as a tree house. The property is built around a tree but about 4 metres above Ground below.

Comfortable and spacious both of our accomodations were more than satisfactory and just 5 minutes walk into town.

Charming and most helpfull hosts made our stay very relaxing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We booked a tree house/self catering unit at the Riverside Lodge several months in advance, and were not at all disappointed. The location is beautiful, and the staff were super friendly and accommodating. The unit is well equipped, private and comfortable. The veranda overlooking the stream below is lovely. We had breakfast at the guesthouse, and that was excellent and well priced. I'm happy to recommend this establishment, and will be going back when we have a chance.

Room Tip: I saw the guest house rooms, and they seem nice, but I would recommend the tree house option. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here from 3 nights while in the area. Very disappointing place, dark rooms with little/no sunlight and ants in the bathroom - Got a few bites as a result1 Very old furniture and breakfast was very average.

Have a look elsewhere in the area!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slipshaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
9.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
508 reviews
5.9 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
936 reviews
21.6 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
924 reviews
9.3 mi away
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
24.1 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Lodge

Address: 84 Church Street, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $74 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Lodge is perfectly situated in the very heart of Oudtshoorn, overlooking the restful waters of the Grobbelaars River at the historic suspension bridge. The Lodge is situated on the riverbanks, with a panoramic view of the Swartberg Mountains. This "beauty" lies within easy walking distance of the town centre, giving you the freedom to explore the tourist attractions and superb restaurants. Riverside Lodge provides B&B and Tree-houses (Built by an "artist"), coupled with exceptional service and hospitality in a distinguished environment. The Lodge is famous for its Kudu and Springbok fillets, cheeseboards and wine selections, served on the deck, overlooking the Swartberg Mountains and Grobbelaars River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riverside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing