We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay!”
Review of Die Fonteine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Die Fonteine
Ranked #21 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night whilst travelling the Garden Route to Port Alfred, We arrived early evening and were greated by the very friendly owner as we drove up to the drive.

We had a lovely, private double room, with en suite, hairdryer, toileteries, and even local port and nougat! Private balcony out the front with table and chairs looking onto a well landscaped and beautiful garden.

Good selection of leaflets for local attractions, free internet (and wi fi) and honesty bar in the communial area.

Breakfast was incredible! A full range of anything you could possibly ever want. We filled up enough to even cover for lunch! We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Last room along the porch was the most private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed here during our tour of the garden route and were very pleased with our stay. We were made to feel very welcome - had excellent breakfasts where we could meet other guests and the rooms were immaculate! (our clothes were even all folded and laid out!) Also we got some good tips for places to visit and places to eat from the owner as well.

It's a little out of Oudtshoorn but if you're driving then it's no bother at all - its actually better to be out in the countryside (we sat out in the evenings and one night we heard the lions roaring at the animal park!). It's also part of the way towards the Swartzberg pass, the caves and one of the Ostrich farms so handier for that.

Very much enjoyed the stay - good value for money and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at Die Fonteine on our way down to Cape Town. The room was very comfortable, tastefully decorated, with a large bathroom.The gardens are beautifully kept. The service was very friendly and efficient. Excellent value for money. Free wi fi and an old style swimming pool in a water tank. We were there in March and the temperatures were reaching 35C, so was very grateful for an efficient and quiet air conditioner in the room. There are two very good restaurants near Die Fonteine for dinner. "The Buffelsdrift" and "De Oude Meul" . Both were very good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayerfal63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Lovely lady ,splendid accommodation,nice place.
Dog a noisy bad tempered nuisance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRD807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We recently stayed for two nights at Die Fonteine. It is well located just a few kilometres outside of Oudtshoorn, conveniently situated between the Cango Caves and the Cango Wildlife Park, two of the main attractions in the area. The room we had was beautifully presented and very clean, and had a lovely large bathroom. Breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked and served by Anzue in a lovely dining room, with an outside area for coffee. Anzue could not have been more helpful and was a great host. If you are visiting this area we can thoroughly recommend Die Fonteine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed for one night as a stopover to break up the journey from Franschhoek to Knysna. The accommodation was of a very high standard and excellent value. The rooms are stylishly fitted out and have a/c which is a boon in the hot summer weather. Facilities at the guest house are limited but there is free wifi and a nice terrace to sit out on and take in the views over the fields towards the Swartberg mountains. Breakfast was very good. There was a slight issue with a power outage due to a thunderstorm but that's hardly within their control!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pengaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed overnight in the Strelitzia room with my friend as we had travelled that day from Paarl on our way to Knysna, via Cango Caves and Oudtshoorn. Die Fonteine is a lovely place with Anzue a very welcoming host who was very attentive to our needs. The place is set in it's own space with the little area known as Schoemanshoek and is absolutely perfect for being out of town in the peace and quiet, close but far enough from the main road towards Cango. The room itself was lovely, all the little things had been thought of and the decor was great. I hope to visit South Africa again and if I'm in the area this is where I'd definitely stay again. It's just a shame we were there for just 1 night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
7.0 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
8.3 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
Le Petit Karoo Ranch
#12 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
7.7 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#7 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
3.8 mi away
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
Surval Boutique Olive Estate
#9 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Die Fonteine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Die Fonteine

Property: Die Fonteine
Address: Die Fonteine | Schoemanshoek, Oudtshoorn 6620, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Die Fonteine 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is situated just outside Oudtshoorn on the way to Cango Caves. This guest house is owned and run by Anzue. There are 6 double rooms each with their own entrance and ensuite bathrooms. Rooms are spacious and new with wonderful finishes. The setting of the guest house is beautiful and we loved eating a delicious breakfast while being surrounded by mountains and watching ostriches nearby. I would have no hesitation in recommending this establishment especially to guests touring The Garden Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Die Fonteine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing