We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not make myself leave”
Review of De Zeekoe Farm

De Zeekoe Farm
Ranked #11 of 28 things to do in Oudtshoorn
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
176 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Could not make myself leave”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had the Egyptian Geesew lake side cabin. Wonderful scenery, in the middle of nowhere. We got there only thanks onto our GPS. Comfy cabin with brandy waiting for us due to the cold winter night. You sleep and wake up accompanied by the calls of birds on the lake. The cabin is exactly on the lake's edge. I wish I could retire in such a place. Breathtaking solitude.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    23
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tranquil mornings”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed one night here as we wanted to do the Meerkat tour in the morning. We stayed in one of the log cabins, which are only a short drive from the main house, and are built overlooking a very large lake. We arrived in the evening, on a clear day to see the sunset and all the birds start to settle in the grass and trees. The cabin was large and had two bedrooms, a bathroom and seating/dining/eating area. The back of the cabin has a large deck which is built over the water. The night we stayed it was cold but we did find the electric blanket, a wonderful invention!.
In the morning we met up,with Devey at 7.00am to do the Meerkat tour. This was the highlight. The meerkats are actually on the farm's land, so Devey takes you out to watch them sun their bellys.

Helpful?
1 Thank cmbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere with very friendly and helpful staff”
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Very nice and clean rooms with a peaceful atmosphere where you can realy relax on a visit to Oudshoorn

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ewald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic stay - Jewel of the Little Karoo indeed !!!!”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We had the most amazing stay at De Zeekoe - in fact it was probably the best stay over I have EVER encoutered. THe staff is highly efficient, the food is super tasty, and the accommodation comfortable and luxurious I can really advise anyone to use this supreme guesthouse for an unforgettable in luxury and warm-hearted country friendliness.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Edmund b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely include in your trip to South Africa”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Oudtshoorn was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. De Zeekoe was the ideal place to stay, close to all there is to see, but if you only want to relax - perfect! We stayed 2 nights, which is ideal to enjoy Oudtshoorn, the landscape and the accommodation itself - which is very spacious. The outdoor shower is great, so was the dinner!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank NataschaMauthner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Zeekoe Farm also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to De Zeekoe Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing