We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, nice Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We were here late Mai 2010. It's a nice place to stay, the hosts are very nice and helpful, the breakfast was very good. We'd definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pflastersteine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 604 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2010

Can HIGHLY recommend this guesthouse. Stayed as overnight stop with my son and wish it could have been for longer. Zoe and Huw are a super couple who were so helpful, welcoming and friendly. Their guesthouse is on a main street through Oudtshoorn so easy to find. We couldn't fault a single thing, it was absolutely perfect and the room we were in was excellent. Huw cooked us a great breakfast, freshly made to order and Zoe was so knowledgeable about the local attractions and gave great advice. Spotlessly clean throughout I can't imagine you could get any better than this. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

The whole family enjoyed staying at 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse a lot! Zoe and Huw became friends to us and we really felt at home! Besides that, we liked the rooms, they were clean, had all the equipment we needed and the beds were comfortable to sleep in. Even so the Arts Festival took place in those days ,the town was very busy and the guest house is located in one of the main roads it was quiet and a place to rest. It is nice to lay at the pool and take a good breakfast on the veranda, watching people walking by. We surely come back and look forward to visiting again!!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jana69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

This is an owner-run guest house in a location that could not be more prime. It is 2 doors down from one of the nicest restaurants in town, and walking distance to a few other nice ones.

The owners, Zoë & Huw, went out of their way to make us feel as welcome, at home and comfortable as if we were staying in the home of an old friend. Staying at this guest house changed our whole experience of Oudtshoorn, so much for the better.

Besides the hospitality, the rooms are all spotless and everything looks brand new. The beds are comfortable and really we had everything that we needed. There are no fridges in the rooms but I'm sure that the owners would have allowed us to store things in their fridge, had we asked to.

It would feel wrong to rate any establishment with all 5-stars and so I have not, but really actually these guys deserve it more than anywhere else we've stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atsmath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

We had looked at a few guesthouses when we stumbled across this historic sandstone building, with luxurious finishes and best of all the hospitality of the hosts. The whole family rated our stay in Oudtshoorn as one of the best activities of our Cape tour, rated across all activities. I we ever stay in Oudtshoorn again, it will be at 88 Baron van Reede.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deonvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

This was a wonderful find in Oudtshoorn, and by far, the best place I stayed in SA. Zoe and Huw are wonderful and genuine hosts and went out of their way to help me make the most of my stay and make me feel at home. The rooms are modern and exceptionally clean and comfortable and are great value, particularly if you are a solo traveller. There is a very inviting pool to relax by too. The B&B is located in an ideal part of town, near to restaurants and the museums. My only regret was not having the time to stay another night. But then I''m certain to return one day soon.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWHC-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

It's central and next to an award winning restaurant. A big comforatable bed with luxurious linen and good quality towels. The veranda was perfect for sipping a cocktail before or after dinner. We didn't try the breakfast, but were told it's excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annburkert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
588 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
554 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $58 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing