We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
577
53
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
53
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightguest houselovely couplegreat hostscango cavesold friendson arrivalplace to stayoff street parkinggarden routesecure parkinglocal restaurantscentral locationhomemade jamsstayed longercape townlovely breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
210 - 215 of 632 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The people really make the place! The owners, Zoe and Huw, are amazing people who made this one of the best stays I've ever had anywhere in the world. And it was so unexpected from a little inn in the Karoo. Oudtshoorn has great things to do and see, and 88 Baron has information about all of them including recommendations of the best restaurants in and routs to take around town. Its placed just next to a fabulous restaurant (Jemima's), and quite a few other good places. The rooms are lovely and the cleaning lady made little towel animals and placed on the bed in the morning. It has a good sized pool, done one better by the beer that Huw brought us. Breakfast was great, with homemade jam and the best omelette.

There is every reason to stay at 88 Baron van Reede!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaeliasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

I can not fault this place. The service is friendly and efficient. The owners are awesome, like old friends. They advised in detail regarding restaurants and activities. The accommodation is well decorated and comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good. Well priced.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank TeenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights just before Christmas on our way back toward the Cape Town area. Zoe and Huw were the most amazing hosts. They did everything to make our stay comfortable, acquaint us with the area, and get to know them. Don't hesitate making a booking here, you'll be glad you did!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hnymnr68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Sadly we were only there one night but immediately Zoe and Huw made us feel at home. The loft bedroom was spacious, light and comfortable and full of charm. We were not rushed away but instead spent the afternoon enjoying the welcome pool and genial conversation. The wifi was a welcome bonus!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had a great stay. It was our first stop during our honeymoon. Zoe an Hugh made us feel at home. The same night we arrived was the guesthouse's 4th anniversary and we were invited for champagne and snacks on the terrace. We had wonderful stay :-)

Eugene and Alicia Coetzee

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews