We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 78 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere created by Huw and Zoe. Having gone to Oudtshoorn without any desire to see caves or ostriches we were indebted to Huw for the hour he spent on arrival telling about the area and all the things that we could do.
The central location of the guest house made it a very good location to explore the town and surrounding area and being only two doors from the excellent Jemima's restaurant meant that we could walk safely to and from dinner.
The pool and loungers meant that there was ample space to relax after a day traveling and the washing facilities were very useful as this marked the mid point in our three week trip to SA.
We were well looked after and I am happy to recommend this to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dncwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 588 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here for a night recently and the owners, a young couple, couldn't have been nicer. We were greeted with tea and the breakfast was lovely. I understand the rooms in the main house are nicely appointed. However, I didn't like our accommodation - room 8 on the outside. Very weirdly, the bathroom sink was in the bedroom! very impractical and a high yuk factor for most I would say. The shower had a sunken middle where the plug hole was, fine, except it was too steep. I nearly lost on my footing a couple of times when i was washing my long hair.

I would not stay here if I got this room again, but otherwise would recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The best thing about this place was Huw and Zoe, they were not only excellent hosts but were happy to chat and socialise with us and treated us as friends and not just guests! They really have put tons of effort into the rooms and the service they provide. The room was immaculate and luxurious, the communal areas lovingly decorated and surrounded by gorgeous plants and flowers. Breakfast was cooked to order by Huw and we really appreciated the proper pork sausages! The pool was fab if a bit cold and Huw and Zoe ensured we had a ready supply of beer! We really can't fault anything with this place and will be back!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had thanks to the talented owners - Huw and Zoe. This lovely couple really do know how a good guest house should be run - they do everything perfectly. Great attention to detail. The swimming pool is the cleanest we have seen in South Africa.
Great advice on what to do/ where to go and scrumptious breakfasts in delightful surroundings.
Keep on making those delicious muffins Zoe! Yum yum!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This guest house is run by a lovely couple who go to the enth degree to ensure your stay will be the best it could possibly be.
The rooms are extremely well appointed and decorated to a high standard.
Everything is clean and working.
The information pack in the rooms is extensive but Zoe and Hugh are only to willing to give advice on many things from where to eat to what attractions are worth a visit.

Hugh seems to be a one man marvel and cooks a mean breakfast too.

My only regret is that we only stopped one night.

Room Tip: all the rooms are equally as good so there is no issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

we stayed here while travelling between knysna and mosslebay but wish we had stayed longer. Huw and Zoe made you feel like one of the family nothing seemed to much trouble- even had umbrellas when it rained! The rooms had everything you need from flannels to hairdryers and even a what to do and where to eat guide.
Amazing place to stay well worth a visit if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My best friend got married, and I was asked to be a bride's maid. Her brother treated us to a "girls" night at 88 Baron van Reede guest house the night before her wedding and we also used the guesthouse to get dressed before the wedding (as the couple would be spending their wedding night there as well.) What a treat! The owners Huw and Zoe made everyone feel so special, they were so helpful! Friendly and organised. The room we spent the night as friends were very comfortable, just what we needed after a week of wedding planning and hen nights! The beds were comfortable, they put snacks in the room for us, and everything else we had asked for like champagne glasses and crockery! They really walked the extra mile to accommodate all of our requests! The breakfast was fantastic! A lovely warm breakfast accompanied by nice coffee in big cups! Not to mention the rest of the good things to eat!
And Zoe really helped in making my friend's special day an unforgettable one, for which I am very thankful too!
I can recommend 88 Baron van Reede with a smile and very fond memories! Simply the best guest house in Oudtshoorn for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejolandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
568 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#10 of 78 in Oudtshoorn
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $60 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing