We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
577
53
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
53
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightguest houselovely couplegreat hostscango cavesold friendson arrivalplace to stayoff street parkinggarden routesecure parkinglocal restaurantscentral locationhomemade jamsstayed longercape townlovely breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 632 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

we stayed here while travelling between knysna and mosslebay but wish we had stayed longer. Huw and Zoe made you feel like one of the family nothing seemed to much trouble- even had umbrellas when it rained! The rooms had everything you need from flannels to hairdryers and even a what to do and where to eat guide.
Amazing place to stay well worth a visit if you are ever in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

My best friend got married, and I was asked to be a bride's maid. Her brother treated us to a "girls" night at 88 Baron van Reede guest house the night before her wedding and we also used the guesthouse to get dressed before the wedding (as the couple would be spending their wedding night there as well.) What a treat! The owners Huw and Zoe made everyone feel so special, they were so helpful! Friendly and organised. The room we spent the night as friends were very comfortable, just what we needed after a week of wedding planning and hen nights! The beds were comfortable, they put snacks in the room for us, and everything else we had asked for like champagne glasses and crockery! They really walked the extra mile to accommodate all of our requests! The breakfast was fantastic! A lovely warm breakfast accompanied by nice coffee in big cups! Not to mention the rest of the good things to eat!
And Zoe really helped in making my friend's special day an unforgettable one, for which I am very thankful too!
I can recommend 88 Baron van Reede with a smile and very fond memories! Simply the best guest house in Oudtshoorn for sure!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ejolandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We really liked this place. The interior of the rooms was tasteful and it had everything we needed (hairdryer, shower caps). We also liked the beds, they were very comfy. Huw and Zoe were very friendly hosts, Huw sat down with us and gave us some suggestions for our journey to Paarl the next day. We followed up on all of them and they were all great. Also we got to borrow the DVD player and some DVD's which was really nice.

The only downside of our stay was that we only stayed for one night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saskia146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This was a great find- very welcoming hosts in Huw and Zoe, clean well appointed rooms and a lovely breakfast. Zoe had made great apple pastries and muffins and a mean fruit salad. Huw meanwhile served up the hot stuff. They truly seem to love their role and kindly even asked us to join them for an Amarula coffee ( obviously got the measure of us as we were already drinking a Bottle of stellenbosch finest!). Good advice re onward travel and suggestions for activities etc. Would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

What a great find. Huw and Zoe were the most fantastic hosts and could not have done more for us including inviting us in to the lovely fire to share a bottle of wine. Room excellent as was the breakfast. A wonderful couple and I cannot imagine that there is a better place to stay in Oudtshoorn. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews