We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (632)
Filter reviews
632 results
Traveler rating
577
53
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
577
53
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightguest houselovely couplegreat hostscango cavesold friendson arrivalplace to stayoff street parkinggarden routesecure parkinglocal restaurantscentral locationhomemade jamsstayed longercape townlovely breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 632 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stay in the hotel one night and it was very comfortable with very good breakfast. The owners are very frendly and guest fill personal attention. Owners Zoe and Hum have also wide knowledge to guide people where to travel and what to see. We strongly recommend to book this guesthouse to all travelers in this area.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful. Zoe and Huw were splendid hosts . Their attention to detail and welcoming nature made it a very special part of our holiday.Giving so much of their time and attention we felt like we were visiting old friends. If we ever return to Oudtdshoorn that's where we'll be heading without a doubt !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

B & B is located along quite a busy main road (although we were not disturbed during the night by any noise) and is in two sections. The first is the old main house which contains a lounge room and the breakfast room and has a number of verandah/stoep rooms with private entrances attached to it running off a pathway down the side of the building. The second is a newer section, the "Barn" which is at the back of the property next to the pool. There is off street secure parking behind an electric gate.

We had a verandah/stoep room, 3 steps up from the external pathway to the verandah. The room was a reasonable size with a queen sized bed (soft but comfortable), wardrobe, small table, chair, colour TV, air conditioning/heating, tea/coffee making facilities and a bar fridge. There was no safe. Free WIFI worked well.

Large bathroom with large shower which had good pressure. No bath.

Whilst the room was comfortable and both the room and bathroom very clean, the furnishing were fairly dated.

Small external verandah had a table and a couple of chairs.

Breakfast was a small cold buffet, choice of 5/6 cereals, yoghurts, fruit salad, seasonal fruit bowl, juice, some cakes (chocolate appears to be the house specialty), jams, bread/toast and filtered coffee, plus a cooked breakfast, eggs, bacon etc, that you were requested to pre-order the night before.

B & B is in very close proximity to a number of restaurants and approximately 28klms from Cango Caves.

Our hosts, Huw and Zoe, were both exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were provided with maps of the local area and details of things to do via e-mail shortly after our booking. On arrival and after we had settled in we sat down with Huw on the front verandah over a free glass of wine as he explained the restaurants and attractions in town and the surrounding areas. Zoe also joined us later and gave us recommendations as to where to buy the best ostrich leather products.

Perhaps we had been spoilt by the surrounds at some other places where we stayed in SA but in the absence of our friendly hosts we would not have rated this B & B as highly even though this was far cheaper and perhaps better value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Baron Van Reede and we can honestly say that Zoe and Huw were two of the most outgoing people we have ever met. They clearly wanted to make sure we enjoyed our stay and taught us a lot about living in South Africa. There is loads to do in Oudtshoorn, we should have stayed 4 nights rather than 2. Cango wildlife, Cango caves, Buffelsdrift, Ostrich Farm - the list goes on. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice and the rooms were smashing. This was one of the highlights of our holiday and we would definitely go back. Thanks you Zoe and Huw.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I can only echo all,the positives from many reviews below. My top point scoring factors - super friendly hosts, excellent wifi reception, very clean comfortable rooms with air con and shower with good water pleasure, nice veranda with chairs and table, mini bar, off street parking, excellent location with many brilliant restaurants within walking distance, good breakfast which can be pre ordered and include the most Devine chocolate muffins.

Negatives - no bath, very few TV Channels available.

All in all a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Stayed in veranda room 3 but all the same. Loft rooms has no aircon.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefan-12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews