We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zoë & Huw are Guesthouse Superstars!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 75 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Zoë & Huw are Guesthouse Superstars!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Like everyone else says....Zoë & Huw make the perfect hosts. The whole process from when you arrive to leaving makes you feel relaxed and respected. There is a warm and friendly welcome, guidance about activities in the area, suggestions for restaurants (where your experience and interests are taken into account not always the case!). Definitely the best in the area I reckon.

Ostrich farm was fun and a bit bonkers, Jemina's restaurant provided delicious food (although the staff training at the time didn't make for the best service!), we had some local beer, local wine and spent a great day driving along the unsealed roads viewing the great scenery.

The rooms are immaculately clean, verandah private and there is parking close/secure. A firm huge bed, air conditioning and decent curtains provided the right environment to get a great nights sleep. The lovely pool was bigger than expected, and the breakfasts huge and tasty (after a full English on day one we didn't eat again until dinner). Location is perfect to park up and walk around the town to relax.

We really enjoyed chatting about the country, culture and small businesses. We hope to be back soon. In fact we might even move to SA!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    52
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
390
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed in this very charming guesthouse for 2 nights but wish we could have stayed a couple more, as there's so much to do in Oudtshoorn and its area and as the b&b was above expectations.
The main building is 150 years old and very beautiful. i had this strange feeling to walk inside my grand mother's old house, very pleasant.
We had booked a room with a private verandah. It was spotless, everything we needed was supplied and seating on our small porch by the end of afternoon was really enjoyable.
The breakfast is perfect, you wont get hungry! Try Huw's chocolate muffins, they're a treat.
The guesthouse is ideally located, walking distance of very fine restaurants. Try the Nostalgie Restaurant just a couple minutes away, it's surprising, cosy and the service and food are superb.
But as mentionned in the title, what makes this place very special is the warm and friendly welcome of Zoë and Huw. At our arrival, they offered us a drink and Zoe took the time to sit with us so we could make the round of everything Outdtshoorn had to offer. She guided our choices and each place she sent us to never disapointed. Ovious choices but also local tips and that was much appreciated to go off the main roads. Thank you so much Zoe for poiting out the dust road and the hidden waterfall, we had an amazing day.
We loved every single minute of our stay there. Lucky you, the ones who are planning to visit Huw and Zoe's guesthouse and Oudtshoorn soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights (14 & 15 February) and can positively agree with all comments and reviews listed on this site. They rightly deserve their Trip Advisor rating as the best B & B in Oudtshoorn. They have thought about and addressed all areas of their guests needs and cater for them in all ways. Huw and Zoe are the perfect hosts.

If you are visiting Oudtshoorn this is the only place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent two nights at the 88. Zoe and Huw (owner/managers). are the best we have found in South Africa. They have a modern,spotless B&B facility with a swimming pool, their attention to detail, breakfast etc. was simply the best. My wife is a self proclaimed coffee snob and she says they had the best...a special blend from George. You are almost next door to the 3 best restaurants in town. What more can I say? Simply the best in South Africa

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TopsideMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
190 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

You can be assured of a warm welcome from Zoe and Huw when you arrive in Oudtshoorn.

Very friendly hosts, full of useful information if you want it.

The rooms were very clean, tidy and comfortable.

Great breakfasts, especially the homemade chocolate muffns (thanks Huw).

Central location for restaurants and shops, and also the activities around and about.

Wish we could have stayed longer than just a couple of nights.

Great price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonannitsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuenen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2013

At the end of January 2013 we stayed for 3 nights in 88 Baron van Reede guesthouse in Oudsthoorn. It was a pleasure for us to be there. Huw and Zoe were the perfect hosts. We felt at home from the first minute. They gave us all the information we needed for a great stay. Every morning we were spoiled at our outside breakfast. Huw’s home made muffins and the self-made jelly of Zoe were special. It was a very good start of the day. The room was spacious and very clean. We would definitely recommend 88 Baron van Reede. And do the Meer Kat trip !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolanda_en_Kees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stopped here for one night after a long drive to rest for our next leg of the trip and we were so surprised by the great welcome from Huw and Zoe. They were very nice and suggested many things for us to do in the area.

The rooms were nicely done and very clean. They also had a small pool which was great for cooling off after a long ride. AC, breakfast and wifi were available.

We are definitely returning if we visit Oudtshoorn again :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karima_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
293 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
532 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pictures Guest House
Pictures Guest House
#3 of 75 in Oudtshoorn
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Property: 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing