We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 79 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just perfect place to stay! We stayed here for one night, relaxed in pool after driving 600 km, got best ever welcome from Zoe and lots of good advice what to do and where to go. Ask for the waterfall nearby. Stunning place! Easy to find and top class restaurant right beside.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merilaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 614 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

we stayed in Oudsthoorn for one night to visit the wildlife ranch. the guesthouse was easy to find because there is a baron van reede street where they're all located. The owner couple gave us a very friendly and warm welcome. The main building inside is an eye candy with a beautiful lounge and nice furniture.We stayed in a budget room in the former horse stables building on the backyard next to the pool. The room /bathroom was very clean and equipped with everything you need, except a/c. even though it was a cold day (22°C), the room was a beat warm at night. Breakfast was fantastic and the owners were very friendly in giving information about the town and possibilities to dinner.

Room Tip: If the weather forecast is sunny, book a room in the main building with sweet terrasses and a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldcitizen_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night only on a recent trip to South Africa with our 2 children aged 11 and 9 years. From the moment we arrived, Zoe and Huw could not have made us feel more welcome (the cold beers were a great start!) nor could they have done more to make us feel comfortable and make sure we had everything and all the information we needed. They are completely on the ball and one step ahead of the game. With our visit being on New Years Eve, they had realised most of the local eateries were closed so emailed us a few days before our stay recommending 3 local restaurants that would be open and then volunteering to book one for us.
The accommodation was very comfortable, we had the family room upstairs in the barn and although the stairs to it were quite steep, there weren't many of them and they were not an issue for us.
Breakfast was wonderful, Huw even cooked fresh muffins for us as other guests had eaten all the others, I don't blame them!!
Where Zoe and Huw have got it completely right is that you are very much made to feel at home and it appears they really love what they do and nothing is too much effort. They have the time to chat and are very well informed on the local activities available.
I would not hesitate to recommend this lovely guest house to family and friends in the future. Itnis so much more than a regular B and B.
Well done Zoe and Huw and thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beccie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Pros:
- Great room. Excellent pricing
- Amazing hospitality. You cannot find more friendlier people. Huw and Zoe are down to earth and amazing. They make suggestions to restaurants, ostrich farms and things to do during the day which were fantastic suggestions, and never would force a specific recommendation. They sit down with you and get a conversation going – really friendly chaps!
- The breakfast is amazing. Great food. Eat as much as you want!
- Easy to find in Oudtshoorn
- Lots of parking.
- Comfortable beds. Clean rooms. Reasonable facilities.
- Air conditioned (very very important in summer)
- Super well priced. You would expect to pay more but the facilities offered is such great value. I’m so glad I did not choose to stay at the Protea Hotel or any other nearby hotel.

Cons:
- None, really. I can’t find anything to complain about! Maybe the TV is a little small, or you can complain about Huw’s pretend to be South African accent ;) Overall this is a great place and a great find and a HIGH HIGH RECOMMEND, and a MUST STAY if staying overnight in Oudtshoorn. We did this stop on our way from Cape Town and towards Knysna/Plettenberg Bay.

TIP if you are travelling from Cape Town: The scenic route we took was as follows and was FANTASTIC.
1. Head east on N2.
2. At Strand, head south on the R44 and drive along the coast to Betty’s Bay. Incredible drive and views here!
3. Continue on to Hermanus on the R43 and hope to catch some whales.
4. Head back to the N2 from Hermanus via the R326 and continue east on the N2.
5. Take the R324 up towards the famous R62. Pass some incredible mountain ranges.
6. Take the R62 east towards Oudtshoorn. See the best of the little Karoo.

Room Tip: Must have A/C! Ask for room with air conditioning and feel free to pay extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolioblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in December and the quality of the B & B was fantastic made more so by the fantastic owners Zoe and Hue who make you feel so welcome and at home!
Great tips on restaurants and things to do and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Dan & Natalie
Liverpool

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

From the moment I was greeted by owners Huw and Zoe when I arrived, I knew I was going to love this place. 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse is a well-kept, comfortable property with everything I needed - good beds, a decent bathroom, air conditioning, excellent breakfast, convenient location, very reasonable prices - but it is the welcome from the owners that set this place apart for me. I felt like Huw and Zoe truly welcomed me into their home and wanted to get to know me as an individual. I only stayed one night on a brief stopover while driving Route 62 back to Cape Town, but if ever I find myself in Oudtshoorn again, i'd love to stay longer.

Room Tip: We were originally booked into a ground floor room; when we arrived, Huw recommended we switch to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spitze1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place is a gem in this town, Zoe and Huw do an excellent running it.
They care for you, rooms are clean, big enough, very quite, safe parking.
Zoe helped us with some hints regarding the highlights of the area.
Breakfast was very rich with a great choice.
restaurant next door served excellent food as well.
Nice place to be recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.6 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
522 reviews
1.4 mi away
86 on Langenhoven Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#4 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#4 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
600 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#2 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
570 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#3 of 79 in Oudtshoorn
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $62 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing