We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay with a pleasant couple” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 77 Oudtshoorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
South Coast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay with a pleasant couple”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were touring around the garden route for six days and stayed in Oudtshoorn after visiting Knynas on the coast. We found this B&B online with excellent reviews and decided to stay. The owners of the B&B, Zoe and Huw, were a delight to spend time with. We were only there a day but left feeling we were leaving friends. We stayed in the main block of rooms and the facilities represented great functional value. Zoe and Huw deserve to do well and we hope to be back to see them at some stage. Thanks again guys.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADSSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    51
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
384
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

88 Baron Van Reede Guesthouse has everything we need for our stay. The room is clean and the king sized bed is comfortable. The vanity mirror which is not in room for some of the 5 star hotels is in the room. Near by, there are several restaurants and gift shops. We went for dinner at two restaurants following Zoe's suggestions. They were excellent. Hwu and Zoe not only made our stay restful but also provided outstanding advice for visiting Outdshoorn and South Africa in general. If you can get a room, stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarknessT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the 88 Baron Van Reede Guesthouse one night. It is in the heart of the town and is in a beautiful old house. We were greeted by the very friendly owners, Hwu and Zoe. We were offered a complimentary drink on the front veranda and given suggestions for good eating places within easy walking distance of the B&B and Hwu made a booking for us at one. The lovely breakfast was made to order and served hot. The rooms were extremely clean and comfy. By the time we left we almost felt like Hwu and Zoe were old family friends. Free secure parking on site. Great value for the money. We will stay here again if back in the Oudtshoorn area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Our welcome by Hew and Zoe was the best we have had for a long time. They genuinely go out of their way to make your stay at their guesthouse as comfortable as possible, but then go the extra mile taking you through places to see, many of which are off the tourist track saving you time and adding to your experience. Our road trip through the swartberg mountains was unforgettable! Incredible value for money at the guest.house. We will be staying there again next year for sure. An aside, we took a balloon flight with Charl of Oudtshoorn ballooning, a very special experience and one we would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived after a 6 hour drive to be greeted by 2 very enthusiastic and friendly people. Zoe & Hue are genuinely helpful people who make you feel so welcome immediately you arrive. We had pretty much organised our 3 days, however if needed the advice and suggestions were available. The rooms - Very restful and organised. Breakfast - Yummy with great options. When we discuss price and value we have to say, that it is hard to comprehend how great the value was, We asked why - The answer seems to be the amount of competition, plus in our case the value of our home currency ( this currently applies throughout SA). We have made some great decisions for our tour of South Africa and this was one of them.

Room Tip: They all seem great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at 88 Baron van Reede while in Oudtshoorn and could not have been more pleased. It was easy to book and easy to find, even though we arrived after dark. The secure parking area was close to our room, and our hosts could not have been better. They were genuinely caring and gave great advice on where to dine, local road conditions and restrictions, and how to better organize our excursions in order to avoid wasting time and travel. This B&B deserves its top rating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Huw and Zoe are the most fantastic hosts. Our two nights here were a real highlight of our holiday in South Africa. Warm and welcoming, we had great conversationis, but they also gave us ideas of how best to spend our time in Oudtshoorn. We crammed our days and came back to our comfy rooms and then woke to an excellent breakfast. Two nights was not enough. Long may they stay number 1 in Oudshoorn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HilsBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
0.7 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
Turnberry Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gumtree Guest House
Gumtree Guest House
#5 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Pension Guest House
La Pension Guest House
#3 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.1 mi away
Earthbound B&B
Earthbound B&B
#4 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yotclub B&B
Yotclub B&B
#7 of 77 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse

Property: 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse
Address: 88 Baron van Reede Street | Route 62, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We welcome you to our 150 year old sandstone home in the centre of the historical town of Oudtshoorn at the heart of the Klein Karoo. We are centrally located and walking distance to all popular restaurants in town. All 10 rooms are en-suite with separate entrances. Complimentary coffee & tea facilities and guest amenities are provided. A cooked breakfast is served to you whilst you relax on our verandah, watching the world go by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your 88 Baron van Reede Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing