We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
582
53
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
53
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night guest house lovely couple great hosts cango caves old friends on arrival place to stay off street parking garden route secure parking local restaurants central location homemade jams warm welcome cape town stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 637 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Oudtshoorn is a lovely place to stay with plenty of things to do and see in conveniently close locations. Huw and Zoe (Thomas) were friendly hosts and they could not have been more helpful in providing advice, information and booking restaurants and trips/activities. The breakfasts were great, the rooms were comfortable, well equipped and spotless, and the laundry service was most efficient. Apart from the well publicised ostrich farms and Cango Caves, we would also recommend the Meerkats experience with Devey Glinister (not cheap, but worth it if you want a close up encounter with these cute little animals in their natural environment) and a visit to Karusa in nearby Schoemanshoek will deliver a lovely lunch and some good wines to taste. Lastly, do summon up the nerve to drive the Swartberg Pass and spend a couple of leisurely hours in Prince Albert, before returning via the Meiringspoort route and De Rust. We thoroughly recommend 88 BVR to anyone visiting this part of the world.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

During our 3 week adventure in South Africa we stayed a real mix of accomodation and this property was by far our favourite guest house.

Huw and Zoe are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome and at home right away. Having a cold beer on the porch while Huw took us through the highlights of the area was a great way to start our stay.

Our room was large and cosy with a very comfortable kind size bed and black out curtains which were great and meant slept really well.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of cereal, pastries and muffins followed by a great cooked breakfast to set you up for the day.

Huw and Zoe will happily recommend local restaurants to try and I really liked the fact that they had copies of their menus to hand.

We hadn't originally planned to visit Oudtshoorn but are so glad we did as there is so much to see and do here and this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GeordieEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Oudtshoorn is the perfect place for various sightseeing spots such as the ostrich farm or the caves. All is conveniently located within a few miles of the guest house.
Zoe and Huw were happy to give us recommendations - thanks to them we got to see our first hippo on the trip. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cinnabrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Run by a welshman Huw and his south african wife Zoe. Both were extremely friendly and extremely helpful. When we arrived, we had drinks offered and they went through options for things to do in Oudtshoorn and offered us discounts for the popular places as well which came in handy. They provided us with menus for local restaurants and made booking for us as well. Also we ordered what we wanted for our cooked breakfast for the next day and the time we wanted it.
Our room looked slightly dated inside but extremely comfortable and clean and was perfect for our one night stay. Plenty of free parking was also available.
Plenty of restaurants within walking distance also makes this a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with A/C particularly in summer months since Oudtshoorn gets extremely hot and humid.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dselvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Most people go to Oudtshorn for the caves & the ostriches ! We had a lovely welcome and they are both very enthusiastic about what do do depending our time frame.

Room was nice and bed comfortable

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwissJ70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews