We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Earthbound B&B(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$45
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queens Hotel(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
$61
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$141
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Old Mill Country Lodge & Restaurant(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$96
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $53/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Plume(Oudtshoorn)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Die Fonteine(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$61
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Riverside Guest Lodge(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$62
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Karoo Retreat(Oudtshoorn)(Great Value!)
$32
$26
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (630)
Filter reviews
630 results
Traveler rating
576
52
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
576
52
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightguest houselovely couplegreat hostscango cavesold friendson arrivalplace to stayoff street parkinggarden routelocal restaurantssecure parkingcentral locationhomemade jamsstayed longercape townlovely breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
379 - 384 of 630 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Dropping in spontaneously, we had the big luck to stay two nights at “88 Baron van Reede” and meet Huw and Zoë. The young owners welcomed us very warm and took a lot of time to explain us the highlights in and around Oudtshoorn. Staying with Huw and Zoë feels like staying with friends, never before we knew such lovely hosts! Their leads to explore the area of Oudtshoorn made our trip even better.

The “88 Baron van Reede” is located in the center of Oudtshoorn. A lot of very good restaurants are situated in walking distance (“Jamimas” next door and “Kalinkas” on the opposite side of the street are fantastic!). Anyway, the rooms are quiet, very clean and appointed with everything you need. The main house has two very nice recreation rooms, a breakfast room and a patio to sit outside plus the possibility to get free Wi-Fi. The breakfast made by Huw was just excellent!

Unfortunately our stay at this amazing place was too short. Zoë and Huw, thank you for everything! We will definitely come back!
Michael & Christine

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChriMi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

TA got it right again: this is a wonderful place to stay, and use as a base for touring in the Oudtshoorn area. Zoë & Huw are warm and welcoming hosts, who provided us with lots of useful information for places to see in the short time we had.
The location is great - walking distance to restaurants - and the room was even better than we expected -- nicely decorated, a/c, large bed, separate toilet and shower rooms.
A great breakfast too, including Huw's delicious home-made mocha muffins!
You won't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Let me start this off by saying that the high rating 88 Baron van Reede has received on here is well deserved. We stayed in five different accommodations in South Africa and this was truly was our favourite. I actually feel bad using the term accommodations because it's more than just that; it's like staying with friends, friends you never knew you had who happen to have many very lovely rooms!

In the forums here, I've read some threads where travelers on a somewhat limited schedule are dissuaded from visiting Oudtshoorn. After visiting for myself, I have no idea why! Nestled in the Little Karoo, Oudtshoorn is a nice, little community which I'd consider to be very tourist-friendly. Blessed with 330 days of sunshine a year, rain is not likely to ruin your plans in this semi-desert region. Arriving at the end of winter we found the temperatures to be pleasantly warm during the day and comfortable at night. The land abounded with wildflowers growing everywhere framed by mountains in every direction. There are many things to see and do, and most are very conveniently located within a half hour drive, pretty much on the same road even! Pet a cheetah, pet a tiger, cage dive with crocodiles, ride an ostrich, explore a huge cave, visit a waterfall, see meerkats in the wild, tour a winery or an olive farm, and more I'm sure! 88 Baron van Reede is practically in the centre of town, convenient to all of this. There are many restaurants only a short walk away for lunch and dinner. As with most small cities the shops close up in the evening so try to get what you need before closing time.

Just looking at the reviews here, you know this is some place special. This was confirmed to me even from the first email we received from Zoë & Huw. So often in this day and age we're "greeted" with automated responses and form letters. It was a pleasure to have such personal attention even before booking a room! We were given maps showing their location and the locations of popular attractions all before we arrived. The communication further piqued our interest in visiting and they were genuinely interested in sharing their corner of the world with us.

There isn't an airport in Oudtshoorn so if you're coming (and doing so not on an organised tour), you're likely driving yourself from somewhere else. We had just come from Cape Town taking the very scenic Route 62. Of course we made some stops along the way to take photos, eat at the Country Pumpkin in Barrydale, do some souvenir shopping and then have a dip in the natural hot springs at Warmwatersberg Spa. Before we knew it evening was approaching and it became apparent our late start and our stops would put us into Oudtshoorn just beyond the normal check in time. We phoned ahead, and Zoë was gracious enough to stick around the extra half hour for us to make it in from Ladismith. (No speeding tickets yet!) Zoë met us upon arrival and amongst getting situated I managed to neglect introducing my wife! OOPS! We could tell even in the dark that it was a nice spot. There's sufficient gated parking around back. The house, lounge and lobby were all nicely decorated. We filled out our selections for breakfast. We were a little hungry, maybe partially due to thinking about food making our selections for the next morning, seeking just a snack to hold us over for the evening and Zoë was very helpful with suggestions of where we could go. Originally thinking of just getting dessert we ended up ordering a meal anyway!

We had a Verandah room. Very clean, obviously rather new, complete with TV, fridge, aircon and shower. The bed was nice and comfortable. I think my wife liked the decor since she's trying to convince my parents to use the same paint colour! It's also good news when she approves of the cleanliness! There is also a pool. I'm not sure if the water would have been warm enough for my liking yet at the end of winter but I'm sure it's refreshing in the summer when temperatures can get quite high!

Breakfast. It was big! It was excellent! It was exactly when we wanted it, too! In addition to our pre-ordered breakfast, a variety of juices, yoghurts, muffins and cereals were available to start with. Then came the eggs, bacon, boerwors, toast and more. It was all very good. Huw is talented in the kitchen! I think we skipped lunch after all of that! Zoë came over and chatted with us and we talked about everything we wanted to see that day and helped us with directions and distances, maps, pamphlets, anything we needed to make our trip to Oudtshoorn perfect. She even helped us save some money with coupons for a lot of the things we intended on doing. The day we left she had more maps for us and listed the places that are nice to stop at along the way. We had a lovely chat and didn't want to leave! But eventually we did. Huw helped with our things and bid us adieu as Zoë grabbed the gate for us.

If you are considering going to South Africa, you can't go wrong with Oudtshoorn and you really can't go wrong with 88 Baron van Reede. South Africa is an amazing country filled with amazing, welcoming people. 88 Baron van Reede is no exception to this. Huw and Zoë go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and at home in the place they call home. I can't recommend this place enough and I hope if you're reading this that you'll go find out for yourself someday soon. I hope we'll be back someday soon ourselves!

Room Tip: The verandah rooms are closest to the house. You can elect to have your breakfast served on the verandah on a nice morning, although we preferred on socialising!
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vo1one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This is a lovely place and I was lucky enough to stay here as part of a group tour. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the breakfast is brill (particularly the coffee muffins) and the hosts (Huw and Zoe) are very welcoming. I don't think there is any more you can ask from a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrissy_1802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at 88BVR for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in South Africa. Huw and Zoe were easily the most welcoming hosts we encountered, greeting us with drinks, details on what to do around Oudtshoorn and where to eat and drink.

The guest house is ideally situated, within walking distance of a number of excellent restaurants and the town itself. It's also on the main road leading to Buffelsdrift Lodge (great for an evening meal while the hippos laze in the dam), Cango Caves, Swartbeg Pass, ostrich farms and a vineyard.

We stayed in a Verandah room which was well furnished, comfortable, clean and had the best showers you could ask for! Breakfast was also superb with a wide choice of food and lovely fresh coffee.

If you're going to Oudtshoorn, make sure you stay at 88BVR as you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews