We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect every time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony

The Colony
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We go to this restaurant on a regular basis and have always been very happy with the quality of the food and service. Definitely the most highly recommended place in Oudtshoorn if you're wanting a decent dinner in a wonderful setting without kids running around! And very reasonably priced...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank calicraftgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    47
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midsomer Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
634 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 479 helpful votes
“This place has got style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Trip advisor, could you remove the question in the form that the reviewer sees about 'is this one of the best meals you have ever had''' etc. It's a meaningless generalised question that will get meaningless answers. Of course no reviewer is going to say no it's not unless it was absolutely ghastly. (TA do delete this para if you need to)

And now to the review...

You go up this winding staircase to an ante room, very posh my dear, where you can sit and have drinks if you want. There is a lot of variety of seating in the main dining hall. When we arrived there was no one else there mind you, we were only at about 6:30 PM and by the time we left there were about eight diners.

The food was good and substantial. For the moment I forgot what I had but I know I had to leave some because there was so much. I had to turn down the delicious sweet courses because they don't agree with me in the evening (don't laugh you youngsters...you wait to get older, your stomach is more choosy) is

We paid R279 for a three course dinner and I think we had a glass each of wine if I remember.
In UK money that is about £19 with a tip so you can't go wrong really.

On the way out we had a very friendly chat with the receptionist who told us they were booked out solid during the season which is from about mid-October to the end of January. The price rises to about R1600 per night but still good value in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian-Snellgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food to be had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We went to "die Kolonie" as the Colony is called, and had excellent food that was well priced, served by a lovely waitress who was as friendly as efficient. The Cape Malay Curry was especially lovely!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We went to the Colony restaurant for dinner and what a lovely experience it was. The atmosphere is old Colonial and very warm. We had an excellent waitress who was there for our every need and the food was tasty and worth it. We really enjoyed our dinner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Now had Springbok and Ostrich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, terrific service and wonderful food. We picked the ostrich and the springbok off the menu and both were delicious. I definitely preferred the springbok (stronger taste) over the ostrich (softer) but both were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colony also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing