We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now had Springbok and Ostrich” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Colony

The Colony
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Oudtshoorn
Cuisines: African, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Now had Springbok and Ostrich”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very nice atmosphere, terrific service and wonderful food. We picked the ostrich and the springbok off the menu and both were delicious. I definitely preferred the springbok (stronger taste) over the ostrich (softer) but both were delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    47
    21
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Class Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

When staying in the Queens Hotel for one night, we ate here and were not disappointed. We all had a three course meal which was enjoyed by all and the desert was especially nice. The lamb was lovely even though the French Fries were slightly disappointing. The mushroom crepes as a starter were to die for though. The service was also very good and they were attentive. A very nice experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martia_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Colonial Splendour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

The restaurant provided us with a delicious "what-you-see-is-what-you-get" dinner. The service was friendly and efficient, our meal was tasty. The wine selection was also really good. Was a wonderful evening in a really beautiful hotel.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carriig_GH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The EXPEDITION Project visits The Colony”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate a delicious set 4 course menu that included some mouth-watering choices. Excellent food and service makes this a definite Oudtshoorn dinner stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank theEXPEDITIONproject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“top class colonial style restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

took one star off because my wife and I found the ostrich to be rather tough after comparing it to the one we had earlier in the week at Kariega Game Reserve.All other aspects warranted 5 stars.Layout of restaurant,quality and presentation of remainder of meal.friendly attentive staff.A top recommendation,maybe it was just a bad night for the ostrich.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colony also viewed

Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
Oudtshoorn, Western Cape
 

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing