We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not long enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not long enough”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed overnight at Zwartberg View on a quick visit through the Klein Karoo on a 2 week trip to South Africa. So glad we did ! The area has wonderful scenery and for overseas visitors you get a glimpse of a different more remote side of SA, away from the game parks and big cities.

The individual chalets are nicely decorated and comfortable. The food excellent and Jann and his staff really look after you. Drinks and dinner are served on the decking where zebra, buck and springbok come close for some hay. Very enjoyable!

This is a intimate, quirky and excellent experience. We didnt feel like tourists here .. more like guests/friends enjoying the magnificent mountain views and quietness of the Karoo.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MargoH22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
260
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Since I was last here over 3 years ago this very special, intimate, private and inviting mountain retreat and been transformed and has become a firm favourite for many returning overseas and local guests.It is perfectly placed away from the madding crowd yet accessible to all other major attractions in the Klein Karoo and is privately tucked away on a large property,offering unsurpassed breathtaking views of the 'Red Hills" from all decks,walking trails and unspoilt nature.Nowhere in the world can one feed an Eland by hand and have tame wildlife at an arms length away, nevermind stroke a wild sandalwood smelling bushpig!It is tastefully decorated offering very comfortable,cosy romantic accomodation, fine exquisitely presented and delicious cuisine, impeccable personal service,as well as entertaining conversation from the host and owner Jann...an excellent value for money experience...thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay!This has definitely been the cherry on the top of all rounders,5 stars.....Highly recommended!...even has free Wifi if you cannot live without your gizmos!

Room Tip: all rooms are tip top as well as the self catering one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africandesertsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you're in the region, simply an unmissable stay. Owner is a bit of a character, but a mine of wildlife experiences!
Exquisitely renovated/decorated chalets, 'scattered' across a hillside in the wilderness. Literally, a 'private reserve', stocked with animals 'tame' enough to feed by hand - we fell in love with the bush-pig! You feel you have entered Dr Doolittle's domain.
All set against the backdrop of the jagged Swartberg mountain ranges - in the morning light, try tearing your eyes away!

Room Tip: Just select ANY of the chalets!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barigowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is one of the most special places we visited during our 6 month sabbatical. The chalets, the silence, the dinner with Jann as the sun goes down and the animals going to get their food as you have your drink by the fire were indeed amazing experiences. you can also do some trekking inside the property, or follow the itinerary Jann will recommend you along the Karoo. It is simply breathtaking. If you're going to travel around this region, this place is a must. And the food, especially if you enjoy meat, is fantastic.

Room Tip: The chalet on the left hand side as you go up has the better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night for Jann's place and hospitality is truly memorable, the evening meal round a roaring fire with Zebra, buck and a friendly bush-pig for company was marvellous, matched only by breakfast next morning. The chalets were cozy and comfortable with splendid views over the Swartberg Mountains. Jann has built a wonderful place where Africa can be really appreciated. One of the highlights of our African safari.

Room Tip: All are equally good, each with its own special character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed for one night during a 10 day break in South Africa and wished we had more time here. We were greeted by Jann (host) who recommended a fantastic iteniary on the spot an Ostrich farm (awesome), the caves and did the Swartberg mountain pass which was both scary and breathtaking. We got back to the lodge for sunset followed by dinner and the magic began. As Jann was cooking dinner we had antelope and zebra's feeding just a few feet away from our table which was one of the best surprises we had on vacation. The atmosphere, food, room, and sense of humour was very enjoyable for both me and my wife. We stayed in the zebra cottage next to the watering hole and it was comfortable, clean, private and relaxing. We stayed in lots of hotels/lodges during our 10 days in SA and this was by far the best value out of all of them. Would highly recommend you see the magic this lodge has to offer, Jann has done an amazing job. Jann could double his prices and it would still be fantastic value! Oh and make sure you visit the meerkats nearby!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffreys Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

What a breath of fresh air! Jan has infused his quirky nature into the entire place! The deck and the big fire pit made evenings so memorable. The rooms are comfortable. The view is AMAZING! I would recommend this place for a quiet getaway for a couple, or a family. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
As winter draws in and we close until 26th August I would like to take this opportunity to thank every single person who took the time and trouble to write us a review (even the motorbike guy,
the guest who got got bitten by the pesky insect and the lady who found the sticky teaspoon) .
Every review means the world to me personally, and I really do appreciate how our reviews differ so much from those associated with conventional lodges and boutique hotels !
When we do re-open in August it will be with a complete renovation, everything better and even more in keeping with our personality - I am sure we will have a terrific 2013/14.
Hopefully, everybody on tripadvisor will be back !!!! (probably not the motorbike guy).
Jann.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
16.3 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
11.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
30.1 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Property: Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is set in our own private nature reserve 15 minutes from Oudtshoorn and de Rust - our chalets are high up in the hills above a natural amphitheatre where wildlife abounds and the views are spectacular. Our dinners and breakfasts, included in our rate are internationally renowned, our furnishings and fittings very African and very unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing