We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reason it makes sense to leave home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The reason it makes sense to leave home”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is why you organise a sitter for the dogs, disconnect the teenagers from their various gadgets, pile them into the car, and drive for 5 hours. And you know it's the best decision when no-one even mentions missing BB, whatsapp, Wifi, iPads or parties. The peace is filled with a sense of wonder. The views fill your heart - and you can soak them up from the your own chalet with the relaxing stoep, quirky art and comfy couch. To spend an evening together as a family around the fire chatting after a wonderful dinner (with a couple of Zebra quietly grazing close by) under a sky crammed with stars is pretty much as good as it gets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Every one of our reviews makes interesting reading....
From the outset we realised that just providing alternative accommodation to what already
exists was not what we wanted to do.
Zwartberg View is not a place where one simply sleeps inbetween touring and experiencing
our country's superb attractions.
We are an experience !
Very much a part of one's adventure in this region - and reviews like this one show that we are on the right track - people do not write of our towels and how well our toilets flush, instead every review tells a story of an unforgettable experience in an environment that has few equals !
Much of what people experience and see here cannot be found anywhere else, and our reviews
substantiate that fact.
We will always have exceptional towelling and goof toilets (with 2 ply toilet paper) but we will
work even harder to extend the overall experience here - and guests on the terrace for dinner will need to take 30 and not just 20 photos to help remember the occasion !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
261
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Upon arrival we wondered what we'd let ourselves in for... but we were soon blown away. From the 38 degree sun, to a tortoise on the road, Celeste the Bush Pig, the "birds" at dinner, the stars in night the sky, the stunning views, dinner & Breakfast, the stories & the chalets! We loved every minute of our stay at Zwartberg View, every nature lover must stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigd8522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a remote place, in the middle of nowhere, very beautifull, peacefull and quiet. You have to go a little bit off road to get to the lodges. That was quite an experience:). The lodge was nice and the food was very good! A good place to stay if you want to see Swartberg pass!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We (three adults) traveled from Port Elizabeth down to Cape Town in March 13, visiting Addo, Keurboomstrand, Oudtshoorn, Montague and so on. When we finally arrived in Cape Town and did a resume of our trip we talked about Zwartberg View the most! It is definitely something different - in a good way! We loved it - the views are awesome, the decoration of the entire place is fun and very creative, the food was great. And the company for dinner and breakfast was truly one of a kind - the furry ones and the not so furry ones.
Would I recommend it? Definitely yes! To everybody? Definitely not. It's not a place for people who need a TV blaring all day long or who can't cope with a friendly spider on the ceiling from time to time. You might also be accompanied by a lizard in your chalet (to help you with the spiders). But if you are really open for a little bit of bush experience - go there!

Room Tip: All three chalets are equally beautiful! Haven't seen the (self-catering) Zebra Chalet though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heide A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This lodge has just three small bungalows situated up on the side of a hill. The only vegetation around is the indigenous scrub of the region. Views over the Zwartberg are beautiful and change every moment according to the light and time of day. No other buildings in sight, just open bush country in undulating hill country.
The host whose name is Jann has many years of experience in game lodge management, and lays on delicious evening meals and breakfast. During the evening meal you can watch the wild animals at close quarters and discuss world politics, or anything else, with Jann and other guests. Jann has an interesting selection of wild animals which he keeps on the property, including Springbok, Zebra and Gnu. He also has an adorable wild African pig which he reared since piglet, and it drives him mad by eating all his precious Aloes.
The area of the Klein Karoo around Oudtshoorn has plenty to see and visit, including Ostrich farms, Cango caves and vineyards.
Overall its a good location to just relax, take gentle walks in the bush and watch the animals and bird life. There is no TV or telephone to disturb you.

Room Tip: There are three identical bungalows with the same views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwafrica4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was one of our favourite places to stay on our whole trip. You feel a million miles from anywhere. Jans mealtimes, both breakfast and dinner, are highlights especially when you are joined at dinner by Zebra, wild pigs, and springbok. A complete one-off place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank not_my_real_name_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garbsen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

As several times before we enjoyed staying here very much. Located only about 20km from Outshoorn the 3 little chalets seem to be built in the middle of nowhere. There are no manmade noises to be heard. The dinners on the wooden deck are gorgeous and Jann is a wonderful cook and storyteller. Everything is lovely decorated and fits perfectly into the surroundings. The view is awsome. If you open the doors in the morning you may have your early morning tea listening to the birds and the wind and ovelooking the Zwartberg mountains. Thanks again for making our holidays unique.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
485 reviews
21.5 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
178 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
310 reviews
8.2 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
861 reviews
30.1 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Property: Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is set in our own private nature reserve 15 minutes from Oudtshoorn and de Rust - our chalets are high up in the hills above a natural amphitheatre where wildlife abounds and the views are spectacular. Our dinners and breakfasts, included in our rate are internationally renowned, our furnishings and fittings very African and very unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing