We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience in wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

No words to explain the unforgettable experience we had with Jann (the carismatic boss), Indiana (the lazy beatiful little dog) and Celest (the funny young piggy).
We really reccomend this lodge, great dinner under the stars and huge breakfast.
Hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 424 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

What an amazing place to wake up to.
Staying here 2 nights has been wonderful.
We arrived in the afternoon and enjoyed a great dinner with another couple (it would be 6 pax max at the dinner as there are only 3 chalets).
The next day we visited a ostrich farm, the cango caves (go for the adventure tour! make sure you know when it starts so you dont have to wait an hour like we did) and mastered the swartberg pass and it has been one of the best days of our trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckerei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

It's a bit of a challenge trying to find the right words to express what a wonderful place this is. We stayed for only one night and as soon as we arrived wished it was longer . Jann is a a superb host, despite there being just us two at the lodge the night we stayed he made us feel very welcome, cooked a fantastic meal and chatted with us for hours. The setting is spectacular and the rooms well appointed and comfy. It all comes together to be one of the most special places we have experienced and one which I'm reluctant to share in case we can't get a room next time. Jann, Indiana and Pig thanks for everything

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a wonderful and relaxing time at Zwartberg view. I would recommend it to all people looking for a quiet and relaxing place within nature.

I spend hours listening to the birds and looking at all the small and larger animals on the land (I’m still impressed by the red cricket which was bigger than my hand). On the first night we stayed up till 2 a.m. because we kept looking at the stars which are amazing.

We spend three nights at Zwartberg. There is enough to do. We did some hiking, went to the waterfall but most of the time we were just relaxing and enjoying the views and sounds.

In the Zebra walk cottage you can make your own braai which we did the first night and during lunch. The other two nights we had dinner prepared by Jann and Amanda which was fabulous. Eating my ice-cream looking at zebra’s was an amazing experience!

Rooms: if you want the best view pick one of the chalets if you want even more privacy and/or make your own braai pick the Zebra walk cottage.

Thank you Jann and Amanda for your great care and yummy food.

Room Tip: Rooms: if you want the best view pick one of the chalets if you want even more privacy and/or make y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marit-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This place was such a great experience through out the whole of my stay.
The personal service given from the owner, Jan, was fantastic.

There are only three individually designed lodges within the land; where springbok, zebra, blesbok and more roam - including a couple other surprises during dinner and breakfast.

The lodges are neatly designed, clean and very comfortable.

There is no aircon but the fans provided are perfectly suited to the job.

The owner, Jan offers a great service for dinner and breakfast with a 24/7 room service. While hosting he gives a great homely, comfortable feel whilst providing this brilliant service. His cooking is excellent with very good ingredients. He personally built the lodges and building on the land and is obvious how proud he is of the Zwartberg mountain view lodge, so you can always expect the best!

I would definitely recommend visiting whether it's for a night or two weeks.

Room Tip: Every room is great, with private space and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was a great pleasure for us to stay at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge. We enjoyed the excellent breakfast and excellent lunch which were cooked by the chef himself and served by Amanda in the unique surrounding together with zebras, springboks and the bush-pig.
The accomadation is lovely decorated, clean and comfortable. We hopefully will come back!!!Manuela&Jörg / Janaur 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManuelaJoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have stayed in the lodge on 2 January 2013, WE LOVED IT it was the highlight of a 2 week holiday, the food was superb and of very high quality, Jan is an excellent host, the rooms are sparklikg clean. beds are comfy and next time we would like to take on the crocodiles in the cuddel puddel, and make use of the inroom message service ;-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks so much for this wonderful review - and at the same time to every other reviewer who
has taken the time to write a review for us !
It is very pleasing to observe that so many people who stay here actually recognise the soul of
the place, and do not merely regard us as somewhere they stayed whilst experiencing our country - to read that people regard us as a highlight of a three week tour is indeed very special
to me personally ...and it is this that we will concentrate on into the future.
Thanks !
Jann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
503 reviews
21.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
191 reviews
8.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
456 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
185 reviews
16.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 50 in Oudtshoorn
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Road | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6628, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $136 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge is set on a small private nature reserve 25 minutes from Oudtshoorn and 15 minutes from de Rust - our chalets are quaint and individually decorated in rustig animal themes and set high up in the hills where the views are breathtaking over the valley and Swartberg mountains. You can choose whether to go for a hike or just relax by the pool. Dinners are always an event here, having a sundowner whilst watching the animals graze and getting to know the other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing