We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the only thing that misses is...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nothing!! What do you need more? Absolute remoteness in incredible landscape, excellent supper freshly cooked on the braai by the friendly Jann (with a good sense of sarcastic humor though) and the quiet -always smiling- Amanda. Nice and clean accommodation in the three huts. A lively wild-pig and a relaxed dog joining the zebras and the springboks while you enjoy your sundowner at the campfire and watch them....30 feet away from you. This is no "Feel-good-in-holiday-machinery"..this is just real...
But wait: There IS on thing missing: more time!...Go there, you'll like it...

Best wishes from Tom, Sabine, Michael and Jolanta

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 428 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay with Jann. He is an excellent cook and host and if anyone is looking for a stay in the Karroo outside Oudtshoorn to stay this is the place with springbok, tame pet pig and friendly Zebras and of course a fantastic view of the Karoo. It is owner run and his care is everywhere to be seen.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed two nights of our honeymoon in this lodge. It was something very different from all other places we have seen during our trip in SA. If you are traveling in the little karoo and you are looking for a place to stay it is definitely the right one, you will have the chance to experience sundown on the mountains in the middle of nowhere. The location of the lodge, quality of the food and the tasteful accommodation will make your stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank so much for this review. Your sentiments are exactly what we have tried to achieve here
in creating a place that somehow reflects the Karoo of old - clear skies, wild animals, nature,
extreme friendliness and a relaxed atmosphere which is why establishing that our neighbour
at Thabile has decided to concentrate on fulfilling the needs of the biker community comes as very good for us and our guests as we have always struggled to provide the adrenalin rush
and the high energy activities bikers seem to enjoy. so, one thing our guests can always look forward to here - no motorbikes, as one would expect from most game reserves !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

2 families traveling with kids from 7-16 stayed for a truly memorable night. Arrived in the afternoon to very high temperatures , no ac , no swimming pool and no wifi. Kids and wife giving me a hard time for going out of our way for this special location. As the sun began to set the mountains lit up and the wildlife slowly came out of the bush. By 7. 30 we were having drinks on the deck with jann zebras a wild pig and a variety of deer. Now the tone had changed to what a great job I'd done finding this truly special location with a wonderful host who patiently answered all our questions about people , culture and wildlife. The amazing night sky, peace and tranquility topped off the evening. This is a truly different experience and the story of how it was made is a great read.

from my 10 year old daughter Jenna : " a really lovely place, pretty views, I really enjoyed having dinner with wild zebras and antelopes. I wanted to take his dog and pig home and enjoyed his jokes!"

Room Tip: Stayed in the zebra cottage, which has the advantage of having a pool where wildlife drink next to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jasop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannharoldbader, Owner at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

This review is a case in point !
The reviewer found himself in deep water when his family discovered that we are a bit off the beaten track and that we don't have ALL the facilities of our in-town competitors.
But, once the Zwartberg view magic took hold, he went from zero to hero in less than 10 seconds !
Now, his daughter is doing her homework every night, and he is treated to a home cooked meal all week long. And all because he had the foresight to bring the family to us !!
This review is sheer proof that our magical place lives on long after the sunsets, the dancing
piglet and the storytelling !
Thanks for staying, and thanks for the review !
Jann.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed unfortunately for one night only, but thoroughly enjoyed this 'lodge with a difference'. We are reasonably seasoned travellers throughout South Africa, and have stayed at many different lodges over the years, but host Jann has really managed to make his 'handmade' experience superbly enjoyable and memorable. From the tasteful decoration and quality and cleanliness of the accommodation, to the great dinner venue and excellent food served in the evening, this is certainly a Karoo stop-over that we highly recommend to those seeking a unforgettable holiday memory rather than a thirteen in a dozen overnighter in the bush elsewhere.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Henk D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

If you want something genuine, different, relaxing and special on your trip to SA then go to Zwartberg View. Set in a fabulous, peacfull pocket of Klein Karoo the location and views are stunning and the sunsets breathtaking. Really excellent 5-star home cooking by Jann (even during a thunderstorm induced power cut during our stay!) ably assisted by the charming Amanda. Surrounded by animals and the sounds only of pure nature here you can touch your soul and feel your spirit. Jann is a real character and reinvents the meaning of idiosyncratic - opinionated and funny but hell I agreed with almost all of his views and on those I didn't I understood fully where he was coming from and enjoyed the discourse. So do youself a big favour and just go - you won't regret it !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Zwartberg View is a stunning place that offers a true South African experience. Jann and his assistant Amanda provide excellent service and a 5-star dining experience. It is nice to read the story of how this lodge came about, and that Jann himself, built most of this lodge. My husband and I were on our honeymoon, and for us, this was the most favorite of all the places we stayed in the 2-weeks we were in South Africa. We wished we could stay longer! Our chalet was wonderful and at the top of the hill from the main eating area; a perfect walk every morning to breakfast, awake with the animals! There are also wonderful hikes and easy walks throughout the property...stunning! Recommendations from us: Book the full dine option...you will not be disappointed with the wonderful meals that you get, amazing and traditional South African food and decor! Bring a flashlight...good to have for your walk back to your chalet after dinner! Bring your own toiletries....I always bring my own when I travel, but this place does not provide the generic shampoo/lotion that other lodges do...in my opinion, this is good, b/c I never use those in hotels and find them a waste b/c no one ever uses them! Do be prepared for a wonderful, authentic, outdoor experience when staying here, full of nature, animals, good conversation, and wonderful company. Jann also had a cute and friendly dog named, Indiana, and a little bush piggy that sure made us laugh during our visit! My husband especially enjoyed his soccer conversations with Jann! We cannot wait to one day visit again; we only wish South Africa was closer to the United States so we could come back more often! :) We highly recommend Zwartberg View!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandD T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
515 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
189 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#3 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
938 reviews
30.2 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#10 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
163 reviews
16.5 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#5 of 52 in Oudtshoorn
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Road | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6628, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $130 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge is set on a small private nature reserve 25 minutes from Oudtshoorn and 15 minutes from de Rust - our chalets are quaint and individually decorated in rustig animal themes and set high up in the hills where the views are breathtaking over the valley and Swartberg mountains. You can choose whether to go for a hike or just relax by the pool. Dinners are always an event here, having a sundowner whilst watching the animals graze and getting to know the other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing