We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Pristine unspoilt Africa"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Pristine unspoilt Africa"”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

A truly unspoilt African gem. Each aspect blended in with the environment and set within the beautiful mountains. Jann is a wonderful host creating gourmet meals whilst one is able to sit back and enjoy the company of zebra and springbuck grazing nearby. The chalets are tastefully decorated in keeping with an African theme. A tranquil beautiful getaway with so much to do and
explore. An authentic African experience of being so close to nature.

Room Tip: The Nguni Chalet - which is situated high up with beautiful views from both inside and out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michajohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    47
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
78
261
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed at the Zebra Walk self-catering chalet for three nights. The chalet is comfortable and sits secluded away from the others. The area is beautiful and we loved the feeling of true nature away from the city. We had zebras and antelope visit us in the evening. During the day we would go on walks and explore the beautiful hills/mountains.

Our kids (3 and 5 years old) were comfortable on the sleeper sofa. Older kids might not fit as well as ours. We ate all our meals outside on the deck. Cooking can be done inside or outside using the stove, BBQ or firepit.

Jann provides great service and we would love to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjell L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Jan and Indiana are wonderful hosts to the lucky few who discover Zwartberg Lodge. Eating dinner with zebra and deer surrounding you under a majestic African sky is not something to forget soon. Jan is very hospitable and serves his food (including veggie, if wished for) with some serious style (and it tastes great!). Accommodation is clean and you can go for walks right from your doorstep. We highly recommend Zwartberg!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A precious get a way to rediscover and meet the natural elements. Jann is able to create a magic atmosphere around the dinner table cooking a fantastic meal. The setting with the wild zebras and springboks coming to join the meal around the fire place under the stars is unique. Jann and Indiana are the perfect hosts, the cottages are beautiful with magnificent views.
A place to recommend and to come back.
Coralise & Sam from the NL

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cora Elisabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We had a great stay at Jan's Zwartzberg View Lodge: wonderful views, great food, lovely houses beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Jan is great fun and very entertaining. We really felt we were having a rural experience: springbok and zebra eaing within touching distance, dirt roads, Karoo plants. Jan's story about how he established the lodge is very interesting and I hope he turns it into a blog. Thanks so much Jan for providing such a memorable start to our tour of Eastern Cape. I hope we will be able to come back some day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Jann is a great host. Zwartberg is unpretentious and a wonderful getaway to get in touch with nature and for peace and solitude. Jann is all things at zwartberg - the host, the info centre, the chef, the maintenance man etc. The chalet is comfortable and uniquely decorated in individual themes. Chef Jann spoilt us with fantastic meals - 3 course dinners, fab breakfasts, and masterchef presentation.
Thanks you Jann

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arjtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

Zwartberg view is about 20 minutes from Oudtshoorn but it feels much further!. There are few places we have stayed where the silence is so absolute and only broken by the sound of the wildlife. It was easy to find and although the roads are rough they are easily passable in a 2WD car.
Jann is a great host and although zebra walk is well equipped we took full opportunity to enjoy his excellent cooking - where else can you eat whilst zebra and antelope watch? His bar is well stocked as well. Prices are reasonable. The views of the stars, as mentioned many times previously, are fantastic.
The room was comfortable and we had no unwelcome visitors! The kids were fine on the sofa bed. Dont come here if you want air con and a pool - you can get that anywhere - this place has much more to offer.
We followed Janns recommendation and went over the pass and back via prince albert. we stopped at the waterfall and the kids swam there - fantastic.
What suprised us most is how much the kids ( 6+8)enjoyed the nature, and the walks around the property. Bring an animal and bird spotters guide! Youll see a lot of ostriches around - dont miss the chance to got to a farm (we went to Cango ostrich farm) - they let the kids ride one and is was hilarious.
Thanks again Jann!

Room Tip: zebra walk self catering and very private, other rooms have better view but are closer to each other
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdruid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.3 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
477 reviews
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#8 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
175 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#1 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Riverside Lodge
Riverside Lodge
#2 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
308 reviews
16.3 mi away
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
De Zeekoe Guest Farm
#4 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
885 reviews
30.1 mi away
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
Rietfontein Ostrich Palace
#9 of 46 in Oudtshoorn
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Property: Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Address: Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Retreat is set in our own private nature reserve 15 minutes from Oudtshoorn and de Rust - our chalets are high up in the hills above a natural amphitheatre where wildlife abounds and the views are spectacular. Our dinners and breakfasts, included in our rate are internationally renowned, our furnishings and fittings very African and very unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing