We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What to expect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Let's get the "what not to expect" out of the way first. Do not expect swimming pools, saunas, lots of people and all the other razzmatazz associated with some lodges. That's it! Once you have turned off at the (very small) sign that says Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge and you have gone through the gate, you enter a world of tranquility and intrigue. Chief, chef and bottlewasher owner Janne ensures that everywhere you look, there is something to look at, smile at and even laugh at, as he uses his talented creativity to turn throw-away objects into works of art and signage that fascinate, without being intrusive or vulgar in this environment. You get the sense that this is a place to relax and have fun, without getting too serious about life. The separate mini-lodges are luxuriously appointed (again often with Janne's "artwork"), but you don't feel that you have walked into "just another lodge" because of the personal touches and detail, and because nothing is out of place but somehow seems to fit. I had the pleasure of Janne's company all to myself for one night, and what an experience. Sitting around the campfire with the springbok grazing within touching distance, a delicious dinner, interesting conversation from ex-advertising man Janne, Indy the dog making one feel welcome, and throughout it all you have a feeling that you never want to leave. The two hour walk the next morning really showed off the setting and the views (and built up the appetite for the full breakfast). I could write a book about this place, but suffice is to say that my next trip to the Klein Karoo will be planned around another visit to Zwartberg View.

Room Tip: There are three units on top of the hill - all three are "the best". For a family, the zeb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 435 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

if you would like to explore the Klein Karoo area or just break away for some peace and rest, Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge is the place to go. Comfortable and beautifully furnished accommodation on a hill overlooking the valley lends itself to sitting on the little stoep with a good book, good wine and good company. Here you can get lost in your thoughts and recharge again. Or use it as base to explore the surrounding towns of Oudtshoorn, De Rust, Prince Albert etc. Start and end each day with a culinary experience served by the owner Jann himself - a meal of which you would not find the equal easily in just any restaurant. And to top that the springbuck and zebra's also come and say hallo during dinner. Thank you Jann, Leon and Indiana for a wonderful stay and Jann for sharing your beautiful place with us. This is a hidden gem and I hope to visit it soon again. Thank you Indiana for comforting me in the longing for my own furkidz who stayed at home.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We recently had the great fortune to spend one night here during our Route 62 journey, and it was an experience we will never forget! I had very high expectations from TripAdvisor, but they were exceeded in every way.

The location is off the beaten track and that is why it is worth the trip. The setting is gorgeous- beautiful red rocks and great mountain trails that are easy to hike. It reminded us a lot like Sedona in Arizona, except without all the people, absurd prices and pink jeeps damaging the landscape.

We stayed in Zebra Walk and as it is self-catering had the opportunity to braii under the stars. Like other reviewers have mentioned, we were able to see zebra and springbok coming to drink in the evening. The cottage was very well prepared, and we had everything that we needed. The next morning we had breakfast with Jann, who is a wonderful host and cook with a great sense of humor!

All in all, an incredibly lovely experience and would recommend to anyone who is passing through Oudtshoorn.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The Zwartberg View Lodge was a great stop through the Garden Route. Jann was very attentive to our needs. The food was excellent and the views relaxing! Jann is no stranger to conversation and his perspectives on South Africa intriguing. His attention to detail was an unexpected surprise. I would enjoy visiting with him again...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moribajah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We recently spent 2 nights at this gem of a property in the klein karoo. The accommodation
was fantastic - each chalet individually and tastefully decorated. Our host Jann's cooking was nothing short of spectacular and his wit was even better!! This is a highly recommended property and offers a tranquil and truly african experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We are delighted to have found this gem in the Klein Karoo! We spent two nights at Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge. Zebra Walk is a tastefully decorated self catering cottage. The cottage is located close to a small dam and we were fortunate to see the zebra come down at sunset to drink. Self catering is not necessary at all, as Jann is an excellent cook. We enjoyed the attention to detail, special touches to the table settings and most of all the springbuck nibbling next to the fireplace. We will definitely be back and can recommend the ZVML to anyone needing accommodation in the area. Gordon and Hilda

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Hildavn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We spent two nights at the Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge and enjoyed every minute of our stay, The views, the individually decorated rooms, Jann's cooking and attention to detail made our week-end really special. We will be back and have no hesitation in recommending the ZVML to anyone needing accomodation in this area. Sean and Hilary

Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudtshoorn hotels
11.5 mi away
Hlangana Lodge
Hlangana Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
523 reviews
21.6 mi away
Swartberg Country Manor
Swartberg Country Manor
#2 of 9 in Oudtshoorn
210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Thabile Lodge
Thabile Lodge
#2 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
Madi-Madi Karoo Safari Lodge
#10 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
190 reviews
8.4 mi away
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
Buffelsdrift Game Lodge
#4 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
971 reviews
12 mi away
Riverside Guest Lodge
Riverside Guest Lodge
#1 of 53 in Oudtshoorn
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge

Address: Vergelegen Road | Vergelegen Road, Oudtshoorn 6625, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Oudtshoorn
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Oudtshoorn
Price Range: $149 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge is set on a small private nature reserve 25 minutes from Oudtshoorn and 15 minutes from de Rust - our chalets are quaint and individually decorated in rustig animal themes and set high up in the hills where the views are breathtaking over the valley and Swartberg mountains. You can choose whether to go for a hike or just relax by the pool. Dinners are always an event here, having a sundowner whilst watching the animals graze and getting to know the other guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Zwartberg View Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing